Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Really yummy and entirely too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée-Hugh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This really is good - but you need to make sure it gets hot enough - to candy stage - otherwise it will be grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shy3l
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I tried d recipe unfortunately my caramel was burnt little though it was nice... Gona try again nd hopefully I wont burn it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I love the taste but did have to pour off about 1/2 c butter. Never had a problem with toffee recipes before but this one does call for more butter than others I've tried. I also add 1 tsp. Vanilla extract and I use Hershey chocolate bars instead of the choc. Called for Makes it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The recipe turned out fantastic on my first attempt! Perfect! No separation of butter, sugar---no---scorched spots! And, no crystallization, perfect! Now, because I am curious and like a challenge, I did a number of things "WRONG"! I wanted to see if I would be successful anyway! I used "frozen" Costco Kirkland" salt free butter! (One person said that's why her batch did not turn out!) It rained today (Bad news, right?) I read many of the evaluations. I decided to try the 300 degree F suggested temperature. (I have a very accurate instant read thermometer.) When I MAKE this EXCELLENT RECIPE again-----I will use the 285 degree F reading as the recipe suggests. I think this 300 Degree F is way too brittle for my liking! I used a wooden spoon. I stirred VERY little. I use a medium temperature to cook. My stove is a conduction model, no burned spots. I used a 9 X 12 cake pan lined with parchment paper to pour the toffee into. NEXT TIME---- I would use a large lined cookie sheet (lined with parchment.) The toffee is too thick for me! I used Bittersweet Chocolate Chips and Cashews for my nut preference. Next time, I would use Milk chocolate instead of the bittersweet, because I just do not care for the bittersweet. Frankly, I do not see how you can fail if you use a good instant read thermometer, and follow the recipe, exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breadbaker2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised at the accuracy of the directions. Everything worked out very well. It was easy and very good and I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This turned out fabulous. Took it to work and everyone loved it. I really didn't bother with the temperature as it reached over the limit before it turned a nice amber color. Just cooked the mixture on medium (boiling) and stirred continuously until it was thoroughly combined and a nice amber color. Carefully took it off the stove and poured into a parchment paper lined baking sheet. I will do this again and am going to try some flavoring variations (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc.) Also, it is quite inexpensive to make. Two pounds of toffee as delicious as this is would certainly cost $ 25.00 at a specialty store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Excellent and easy. I halved the recipe for the first try so if it didn't work out...I'm not out the larger amount of ingredients! I would recommend using a candy thermometer for sure. Do not rely on the 15 minutes cook time. I believe the people who gave this recipe bad reviews simply didn't cook it to the proper temperature, and that's critical for any type of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Next time I'll omit the salt, if using salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Toffee is good but the pan size is to small and the toffee comes out a little thick. Next time I will use a little bigger pan. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States