Best Spinach Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Very, very good. I also used the whole box of spinach. For those of you who tried onion soup & didn't like it, try leek. It's milder. Knorr's makes it, and it's usually in the same place where you find onion soup, ramen, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
961 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
this is an easy and wonderful recipe and I hae been using it for years. It is often ruined by newcomers as they use whipped dressing (Miracle Whip type) instead of MAYONNAISE (Hellman's type). Makes a big difference -- use mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
844 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I printed this recipe ages ago, but never had the need for the dip until recently. BOY am I glad I made it! I have now taken it to two parties and have been asked for the recipe by so many people. They are surprised at how easy it is. The leek soup mix is the key ingredient, and tastes so much better than the vegetable (IMHO). I used a full 10 oz. package of spinach (it needs it for texture), and I doubled the recipe. It works best if you squeeze as much liquid out of the spinach as you can. If not it could turn out too runny. Overall, it's quick, easy, delicious, and will become a staple in my entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this recipe for a job that I was catering and multiplied the recipe times three. But doing it just for one it just as good. This got rave reviews. I used only 3/4 cup mayonnaise and the whole package of spinach. I usually let the spinach thaw completely and then wring it out in a kitchen towel. The leek soup mix is the key to it. It taste so much better then the Knorr Vegetable soup mix. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This dip is excellent! I got many compliments that it was indeed the best spinach dip they ever had. I did make some substitutions though. Instead of the leek soup mix,I used: 1 large (or 2 small) garlic cloves, minced 1/4 onion, chopped fine approx. 1 1/4 Tablespoons Janes Original Mixed-Up Salt (or to taste) Also, I used an entire 10 ounce package of frozen spinach. I think it needs the extra spinach to have some in every bite. It turned out fantastic. Several people even asked me for the recipe. This will definitely be filed in my 'Quick Party Dips' section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is a winner every time. I use light versions of everything I can and it always turns out awesome. I find that veggie soup and leek soup are interchangeable and both are always a hit with the "grazers". I also serve triscuits (or you might try any other sturdy large-ish crackers you like) to use when the bread is gone. I've also added chunky chopped artichokes to the recipe instead of the water chestnuts with good success. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This recipe is so easy - and the taste is amazing!! I used a whole package of spinach instead of the half a package and divided the dip between a loaf of sourdough and a loaf of pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was a very good spinach dip but you really need the whole box of spinach. I have always made the spinach dip on the back of the Knorr Vegatable soup mix box and it is very good also. I really can't decide which is better. They are very similar and both very good. My 5 year old ate this one right up and it was devoured at a party last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! And I'm not a big fan of sour cream or mayonnaise, but this is great! I just couldn't find leek soup mix, so I used a packet of Knorr's veg. mix & added about 1/3 of an onion soup mix packet. Used the whole box of spinach & served with pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Delicious!!! I used the whole 10oz. of spinach and made sure to squeeze all the liquid out before adding. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States