Best Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a keeper! The only thing I did differently was to use only 1 cup of rice, but still used the same amount of liquids, after other reviewers said it was dry. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Omg!!! This recipe is the bomb. This was my first time making it and it can out so perfect. I use hot picante sauce instead of salsa along with the chicken broth. Can you say "Yummy"! My husband even enjoy it and his not a big fan of the spicy food. So I definitely will be making this again. Best Spanish Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I should have read more of the reviews before making this. I didn't use 1 cup of rice - instead using the 1.5 cups the recipe calls for - and my rice was still crunchy after the specified cooking time. I let it steam for an additional 5 minutes here-and-there, checking it each time the timer went off, until it had steamed for an additional 20 minutes, but it still had some crunchy bits. By this time the rest of my meal was cold so I had to give up on the rice. Despite not being done, I liked the flavor. I'd make this again, but use the correct rice-to-water ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Beeeeyooootiful Spanish Rice - so easy. Please, remember to season for your tastes! If you like heat, add it! if you like it extra tomato-ey add it! Other wonderful things that you can add or not to your taste --- olives! more garlic, diced peppers, hot sauce, kidney beans, chick peas, white beans. But the single most important step in this rice dish is you MUST sauté it first. the second - DONT use minute rice. third - remember, everyone's stove is a bit different, every cup of rice is a bit different.. the standard liquid to rice measure is two to one. meaning two of liquid, one of rice - this recipe allows for 1 and half cups rice, so you would need 3 cups liquid for it to work, 2 of chicken broth and the other cup from the chunky salsa - not all salsa's are the same so in short keep your eye on the liquid. Espcially if you are adding additional ingredients that have a lot of liquid like diced tomatoes....last - you bring this to a boil, and then you slow simmer. I generally bring mine to a boil, let it boil a good 4-5 minutes and I turn my stove top OFF(electric stove). I let it sit tightly covered for 20 mins on the same burner. but that's me and my stove - think about how your rice works on your stove - and if you have to have your stove on, then leave it on low but very low so the bottom doesn't stick or burn.. (I usually add a spray of butter flavored Pam to the bottom of my pot before putting anything, even water in. Thanks for the EASY and great tasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I loved this! I made it exactly as written. I even ate leftovers cold one day. :-) Its good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I'm notorious for under-cooker rice. I finally got a rice maker, but I still want to be able to make rice dishes as well. This dish is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I tweaked it, added minced garlic with the onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muriel Holmes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I've used this recipe at least a dozen times now...it's fantastic! I add whatever vegetables I have on hand when I'm first starting out...kind of like a stir fry, then add rice, then follow recipe. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have not perfected this one yet, I may have to add a little bit more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I used olive oil and half a white onion and two cloves minced garlic. Also, before adding the broth and salsa I added 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp ground cumin and 1 tsp ground coriander. Also, I used fresh salsa with fresh coriander in it. Worked out very very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States