Best Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Its good,but this is mexican, im actually Spanish(europe) and this is not spanish rice, but for what it is, its nice , but for the record salsa is more mexican
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Loved the recipe but made a slight change. I added some bell pepper to it because I didn't have salsa. In place of the salsa, I used V-8 juice! Still gave us the tomato taste and the peppers and onions took care of some of the salsa veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I did add a little bit of salt to taste, however. It seemed a bit odd that salt was not on the ingredient list. Otherwise, this is a no-brainer, fool-proof basic Mexican/Spanish rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a keeper! The only thing I did differently was to use only 1 cup of rice, but still used the same amount of liquids, after other reviewers said it was dry. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Omg!!! This recipe is the bomb. This was my first time making it and it can out so perfect. I use hot picante sauce instead of salsa along with the chicken broth. Can you say "Yummy"! My husband even enjoy it and his not a big fan of the spicy food. So I definitely will be making this again. Best Spanish Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I should have read more of the reviews before making this. I didn't use 1 cup of rice - instead using the 1.5 cups the recipe calls for - and my rice was still crunchy after the specified cooking time. I let it steam for an additional 5 minutes here-and-there, checking it each time the timer went off, until it had steamed for an additional 20 minutes, but it still had some crunchy bits. By this time the rest of my meal was cold so I had to give up on the rice. Despite not being done, I liked the flavor. I'd make this again, but use the correct rice-to-water ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Don't have to it's not real Spanish rice. This is the way my Mother-in-law Santos, taught me over thirty years ago. REAL,Spanish Rice 1 cup white rice rinsed, add to skillet with 3 tablespoons oil, brown over medium heat, as it starts to brown add 1 tablespoon fresh ground black pepper, 1/2 tablespoon fresh ground comino (cumin), 4 crushed cloves garlic, 2 cups water. I use a Molcajete to crush everything. Add salt to taste, 2-3 chopped tomatoes, or 1 can chopped up with juice, 1/4 - 1/2 cup chopped cilantro. if you use powdered spices use less. But if you want real Spanish rice use fresh. Continue cooking over med. low heat reducing most of the water out of the rice but not till dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatureHippy
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Beeeeyooootiful Spanish Rice - so easy. Please, remember to season for your tastes! If you like heat, add it! if you like it extra tomato-ey add it! Other wonderful things that you can add or not to your taste --- olives! more garlic, diced peppers, hot sauce, kidney beans, chick peas, white beans. But the single most important step in this rice dish is you MUST sauté it first. the second - DONT use minute rice. third - remember, everyone's stove is a bit different, every cup of rice is a bit different.. the standard liquid to rice measure is two to one. meaning two of liquid, one of rice - this recipe allows for 1 and half cups rice, so you would need 3 cups liquid for it to work, 2 of chicken broth and the other cup from the chunky salsa - not all salsa's are the same so in short keep your eye on the liquid. Espcially if you are adding additional ingredients that have a lot of liquid like diced tomatoes....last - you bring this to a boil, and then you slow simmer. I generally bring mine to a boil, let it boil a good 4-5 minutes and I turn my stove top OFF(electric stove). I let it sit tightly covered for 20 mins on the same burner. but that's me and my stove - think about how your rice works on your stove - and if you have to have your stove on, then leave it on low but very low so the bottom doesn't stick or burn.. (I usually add a spray of butter flavored Pam to the bottom of my pot before putting anything, even water in. Thanks for the EASY and great tasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I loved this! I made it exactly as written. I even ate leftovers cold one day. :-) Its good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States