Best Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was pretty good. We live overseas where good Mexican/Spanish food is VERY difficult to come by, so we have to make our own. I did fry my rice, which made the cooking time much longer. I only cooked 1 cup of rice, and used 2 1/4 cups water (per the rice directions), but it took about 30-40 minutes for the rice to soak up the water. Even then the rice was pretty firm - almost crunchy. Next time I think I won't fry my rice for more than about a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Family loved this wonderful recipe. Fast and easy to pull together. Next time I do this dish I will add some diced green pepper with the onion to add a little color. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I needed a spanish rice recipe to bring to a potluck. This recipe was easy to make. I hope it tastes as good as it smells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This is a great basic recipe. I made it healthier and tastier by using brown rice and a combination of vegetables (chopped) and spices that we were using for fajitas. It did need more broth and a longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I love this recipe and use it all the time! I cut my cooking time down so it's not as dry. Goes great with Gary's Turkey Burritos! I use bullion cubes instead of the broth, but that's generally because I forget to buy broth. :) All in all, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly (except for less broth due to high altitude) and it was excellent! As good as our favorite Mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Just made this as a side dish with Chicken Verde and it was delicious. Followed directions exactly and it was perfect. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Just made this tonight! I added garlic powder (1/2 - 1 TBLSPN) and about 1 tsp. of Tajin Clasico Seasoning! This was so easy to make and was a fantastic accompaniment to the fish tacos I made!! My boyfriend loved it too! This is a "pinner" - I've saved to my Pinterest page so I can make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I was really prepared not to like this.....living in New Mexico and all. But it was really, really good. Had to add more chicken broth as I went, and I started with 2.5 cups, not the recommended 2. But we are at a mile high elevation, so sometimes that is expected. I used Pace Picante Medium sauce. Also, added chopped green pepper with the onion, and more onion. 2 Tbsp., like some other reviewers said, is hardly worth it. Half a chopped onion, half a chopped green pepper. Otherwise, followed the recipe, including the browning of the rice. This is Mexican restaurant worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This turned out great! Probably didn't brown the rice enough and I know I didn't get quite enough chicken stock in (used on 14.5oz can) so after 20 minutes it was still a little crunchy. I added 1/4c water and that solved the issue. Next time I'll probably just add a little more salsa to make up for the missing stock. Will probably add a little more onion and maybe some green chilies just for a little extra pop next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States