Best Spaghetti Sauce in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
delicious! I could add mushrooms or chilis or wine to change it up a little---but it is great just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Nice fresh flavor but it was pretty watery. I even let it cook down for about an hour and reduce by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This wasn't thick enough to be called "sauce." It was more like "soup." Plus, the flavor wasn't anything extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i consider this a gourmet sauce -- would have never thought to add vermouth, and my tasting while cooking, before adding the vermouth, then after adding vermouth, was a huge and pleasant surprise ... i sliced the romas lengthwise, 4 slices to the tomato, as i like chunky ... next time i will sauté onions with the garlic, probably a lot, as i like onions in my sauce ... using FRESH basil as the only spice was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
love the dry vermouth in it! wish it had green bell pepper but the roma tomatoes combined with the vermouth? great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
quick, easy, and so good. My kids love the "homemade" sauce I work soo hard to make, not knowing that the Best Spaghetti Sauce in the world only takes 10-20 mins for prep/simmers for 40. Kudos to Mickey for making me a kitchen star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe was a train wreck for me, perhaps because I did not use fresh tomatoes? I had home-made linguine I had to use(I could manage the pasta but not the sauce, go figure) and ended up putting the fresh basil over the warm pasta with olive oil and parm. That was brilliant. Except for the tomatoes, I followed the recipe to a T. I am not sure what went wrong, but it was inedible. Since I am in the minority, I must assume it was my error, however, I really think the vermouth and tomato are a bad match. Perhaps a sweeter vermouth vs. extra dry (which I used)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very tasty. Made a few alterations, but that's being a veggie. First, I sauted some onions with the garlic. Also, I used veggie stock instead of chicken, and I skipped the dry vermouth. Very nice flavor, and fresh basil is always such a pleasure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4Thoughts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I found it to be bland and runny. Maybe I did something wrong, but my husband re-read the recipe and I did everything it said to do. I won't make it again. Also, it feeds more than 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I found this recipe to be okay. After reading other reviews, I, too, decided to use olive oil instead of butter. It was very bland, but after I added a tablespoon of sugar, and garlic powder and a touch of oregano, the flavor was a little better. It was very light, and fresh, but needs more flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States