Best Spaghetti Sauce in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I found this recipe to be okay. After reading other reviews, I, too, decided to use olive oil instead of butter. It was very bland, but after I added a tablespoon of sugar, and garlic powder and a touch of oregano, the flavor was a little better. It was very light, and fresh, but needs more flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Very simple, fast (it helps to have a food chopper/processor for the tomatos) and really tasty. Now I have a use for that bottle of vermouth that's been around for awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
It's just to easy to be this good! If you think pasta sauce has to simmer for hours forget it. I served this at a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. Sometimes I add a tea. of mixed Italian seasonings if no fresh are availible. The Vermouth is the kicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was a pretty good sauce - very fresh tasting. I used campari tomatoes and added a couple of sliced kalamata olives, which really went well. The pasta absorbed quite a bit of the sauce, which was fine, but if I wanted it a little saucier I would have added a little plain tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
simple and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I loved the fact that this dish utilizes fresh tomatoes. I added salt, pepper,crushd red pepper, more garlic than called for and used olive oil instead of butter. It is very healthy and next time I make it, I will include other veggies such as mushrooms and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I will never buy buy spaghetti sauce again. This was SO good and easy and fast. I did substitute white wine as there was no vermouth in the house and added a small amount of tomato paste to thicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is very lite, healthy and nice. I added a little garlic salt to liven up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
This sauce was a big hit at a dinner party that we threw. We served it over linguine as a complement to the main course, Chicken Marsala. Everyone kept coming back for more! Very flavorful and fresh. note: We substituted olive oil for 1/2 the butter that was called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
easy and light sauce. great with all types of pasta. love it and its low cal. works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States