Best Scrambled Eggs Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
A friend of mine who is a great chef once told me never to make scrambled eggs with milk, always use a little bit of water. I will stick with his method. Also, you need to add butter to your pan before adding the eggs. Also, use the salt and pepper to taste. One teaspoon of each is a bit much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Wow, I don't even know what to say here, because I just happened to run across this recipe and because I felt so badly about all of the negative reviews, I just HAD to try it, in hopes of possibly turning it toward the positive. O.K. guys, I watch the Food Network all the time and I know that you're not supposed to put milk into scrambled eggs, however, my mom always did and I, on occasion do and don't find it offensive in any way. Hubby actually prefers his eggs creamy, so when I do add milk, he's happy. However, it's only a splash, not a quarter cup. I never, ever follow a recipe exactly (except for baking) but I felt this particular one warranted me to do so. "KANGAROOGIRL", I'm so sorry, but the salt/pepper ratio is so off here. I adore pepper, but this was too much and the salt alone will send your blood pressure sky high not to mention making your lips white. For those who don't mind milk or half and half in their eggs I say go for it, but just add a pinch of the seasonings and you'll be a happy camper. By the way "DUNKING DON", I think you said what everyone else is thinking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
pretty good but the proportions are a little bit off, a tiny bit less milk and a little less salt and its all good. i like a lot of pepper :) a lot of people on here keep saying things like "dont you watch the food network, you never put milk in eggs" but i think thats ridiculous, maybe YOU never do, but its fine if some people like to, it makes them fluffy and nice, and if you dont like them that way dont act like no one should like them that way. i dont like peanut butter but you dont see me reviewing every cookie recipe saying no one should ever use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisisjusttosay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I see the reviews here are mixed. But my daughter just made these eggs for me this morning (and with soy milk to my surprise). I'll have to say, they were some of the best eggs I've had in my life. (And I'm not just saying that because she is my daughter. :-) They were fluffy. Great texture. They had a good balance of salt and pepper. Not too wet, not too dry. All around just good eggs. I might have a *slight* bias in terms of taste because of how my mom prepared them when I was a kid... she used milk also. And so with that, I probably can't imagine having eggs any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Prepare the pan or the eggs will burn. Really good scrambled eggs are cooked over medium low heat. Also, the amounts of salt and pepper seem off......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Wow ok this was just all kinds of bad...waaay too much salt and waaay too much pepper. I knew it seemed too much when I began scooping it, but following the recipe I continued anyway...but WOW. Couldn't finish them, had to make a new batch my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I just made these eggs for my mom, on Mother's Day, for breakfast in bed. She loved them! However, I just put in a sprinkle of salt and a sprinkle of pepper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
In my opinion, this recipe is pretty easy. Its a no brainer. I actually popped it in the microwave, stirred it a few times and it turned out fine. As for the salt and pepper issue in the last two reviews, use your common sense or instinct, personally the amount didn't bother me - but then I like lots of pepper. But if you feel its too much then put in however much you think you need, this recipe is actually really flexible. Its simple, fast, and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I have been doing my eggs this way for years and we love them. To be totally decadent, swap the milk for heavy cream and for those who like cheese add that to the mix. As for the reviewer who said it was too salty, a person with common sense should know how much salt they like or dislike in their food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I hope beginner cooks will realize that 1t each of salt and pepper is way too much for these eggs. Always start with a lightly buttered pan or at least a spritz of cooking spray. If milk must be added, add only a couple teaspoons.If these simple modifications are made,I believe you would, in fact, have the Best Scrambled Eggs Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States