Best Rolls Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I made these today--started last night. I was disapointed that the dough didn't seem to rise over night in the refigerator. The dough does seem to make a lot of rolls. I let them rise a second time before baking. They didn't rise after 1 hour in a draft free warm oven. I did forget to knead them. I don't know if that makes as difference. I went ahead and baked them. They didn't rise either as they baked. I had more rolls waiting to rise and bake. The second batch I skipped the second rise and just put them in the oven. They had sat on the counter waiting for the first batch to finish rising and baking they and didn't rise either. They tasted OK, my son really liked them and my husband liked them to. He said he wished they would have risen more. I may make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is the closest I've come to my great grandmother's rolls. The secret to light and fluffy rolls is to not overknead, or they turn out biscuity. These come out perfect with my Kitchenaid mixer every time. It's also even better using bread flour, which makes them lighter and softer. I don't refrigerate over night, instead I let rise for 45 minutes and then dump on floured surface and make into rolls using as little dusting flour as possible. Cover with plastic and let rise again for 30-45 minutes before baking. Be sure to put the rolls about 1 inch apart, being closer together makes for a taller and softer roll. Excellent recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I must be doing something wrong. The rolls were heavy and my husband said they tasted like biscuits. I've made rolls and bread before but I was really disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I've been looking for a recipe to match that which my grandmother would make every year for Thanksgiving and while grandma can no longer find/remember the recipe this is the closest I've ever come. I'm giving this recipe to grandma so she can start making them again. BRAVO Cara thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The name says it all!! I make these every year for Thanksgiving and get compliments galore! Everyone truly loves them! I lost my recipe and couldn't even imagine making any other! Thank goodness for Allrecipe.com! May not be the easiest for the novice baker, but well worth the effort! Remember to by self-rising flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I am a 56 year old man who does not cook very much, but after trying this Recipe for these dinner rolls I have to say they are the best I have eaten, and now I do more cooking because I love these so much I asked my wife to let me help plan dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
THESE ARE JUST LIKE STORE BOUGHT BAKERY ROLLS. NOTHING SPECIAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I was looking for a really easy yeast roll recipe when I came across this one. Not being the best cook in the world, I was almost intimidated but gave it a try any way. The recipe title sure fits - these are the best rolls ever. I wasn't sure what "do not punch down" meant, so I just pinched off the dough right out of the fridge and rolled it up. They turned out great. Really light, fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBLAKLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quitman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
These rolls are very tasty and perfect for holidays since all the work is done in advance. It's great not having to knead the dough! I've made them twice and found they're better refrigerated overnight than for just a short time. They're very rich so don't plan on guests eating many with a big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I'm not much of a cook, but I decided to give these a try, and they worked great. My friends really seemed to enjoy them. The rolls turned out nice and light and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States