Best Rolls Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I didn't like them at first. The rolls turned out like little rocks at first. I tried again but made a few adjustments. I used bread flour instead of self rising flour. I also increased the yeast to 3 tbs of instant dry yeast. I left everything else the same. They were awesome. I have made them several times since then they are also delicious in whole wheat. Use 5 cups whole wheat flour and 2 1/2 cups of white bread flour. Also add 3tbs of wheat gluten.For the wheat rolls I used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Thank you for this excellent roll recipe. I practiced the recipe a few days before Thanksgiving and it was a hit with absolutely everyone. I live in a high altitude area, so I added a bit more water and butter, increased the cooking temp a bit and a little less sugar (all based upon the high altitude teaching lesson on this website)...Perfect...I also did not refrigerate, but followed another users review and used my electric mixer (so easy) and after forming into balls, very close together, I plastic wrapped the dough balls and let them rise again. Baked until I saw a medium brown color. Sprayed tops of rolls and rolls on the side of pan with spray butter. So So yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM ROBERTS JOHNSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These rolls are just too entirely sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tennyson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I read a few of the reviews and thought I would give some advice. These rolls do not really rise in the fridge overnight but after you roll them out let rise in 100 degree oven until rise to double. They are very light and fluffy. I also bake them at 375 for aproc. 20 min. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
These turned out really tasty! New Thanksgiving and Christmas staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great flavor, but the overall directions kind of stink...I didn't cook mine long enough, because there wasn't a "time limit" for them...it just said until they browned. They browned great on the outside, but the inside was still a little gooey. Not unedible gooey, but they should have been cooked for about 5 more minutes. That would have made a big difference. Also, I used a lot more flour than the recipe said. Getting it to "handling stage" took a lot of flour, and I ended up having to knead it, even though the recipe said not too. It didn't seem to make a difference. They were still huge. I will most definitely make these again, but probably halve the recipe. There were SOOO many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I was highly disappointed in how these "rolls" turned out. As another reviewer mentioned, these were more like biscuits because they were dense, hard and dry. I left the dough in the fridge overnight, but it did not seem to rise. I am not sure what went wrong, but nonetheless, my search for the best rolls continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Aside from scaling back the recipe, I followed the directions to a T. They never rose in the refrigerator overnight or at room temperature the next day. They turned out very heavy and dry - not at all what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
how is it that my rolls went before the main course? ha ha! they were delicious! i had to hide some in order to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I'm usually pretty good with breads, but these came out awful! I scaled down the recipe and I'm glad because that would have been an even bigger waste of ingredients. I followed the recipe and the dough looked more like batter, so I kept adding flour until I got something resembling a ball of dough. I didn't have overnight, so I followed the suggestion to let rise 45 minutes. Except they didn't rise. And I know my yeast was good. I decided to see it through so I divided into balls and let sit another 45 minutes. Then I baked - I wasn't sure for how long since the recipe is silent on that point, so I took them out when the tops were brown. Basically I got something that would have tasted like a biscuit if it hadn't still been doughy in the middle. I won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States