Best Rolls Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. Because the recipe asked for 1 1/2 packets of yeast, I didn't know how to easily divide a packet of yeast in half so I used two full packets. I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added melted margerine, the egg, the remaining water and the dry ingredients. I did not use self-rising flour, just regular AP flour. This dough needed more flour than the recipe stated to get the dough into a ball and able to jump on a hook, over a cup. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes, then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, then brushed the tops of the hot rolls with vegetable oil right out of the oven. These rolls were GINORMOUS. They looked pretty and turned out fluffy and the perfect roll consistancy but they were quite sweet. Not so much a dinner roll for us, but I think this would make a good base for a sweet roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is the closest I've come to my great grandmother's rolls. The secret to light and fluffy rolls is to not overknead, or they turn out biscuity. These come out perfect with my Kitchenaid mixer every time. It's also even better using bread flour, which makes them lighter and softer. I don't refrigerate over night, instead I let rise for 45 minutes and then dump on floured surface and make into rolls using as little dusting flour as possible. Cover with plastic and let rise again for 30-45 minutes before baking. Be sure to put the rolls about 1 inch apart, being closer together makes for a taller and softer roll. Excellent recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Perfect first time trying it. so simple I couldn't believe how good they are. Didn't have time to do the overnight in the refigerator and even with a short amount of time to rise they came out perfect tasty and light. Will be my choice for all occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Unfortunately, I cannot agree that these are the best rolls ever. I make rolls fairly often and had high hopes with these. The recipe takes too long to make, its expensive and thus a bit disappointing. Now I've had great results with the recipe Sweet Dinner Rolls by Donna West; IMHO that recipe makes some of the BEST rolls ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I am a 56 year old man who does not cook very much, but after trying this Recipe for these dinner rolls I have to say they are the best I have eaten, and now I do more cooking because I love these so much I asked my wife to let me help plan dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Always a hit with my family. I've used this recipe for 2 years with many repeat requests. When making rolls like these many people make the mistake of over-working the dough. Their finished product will be heavy & tough. When done properly these rolls are perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Thank you for this excellent roll recipe. I practiced the recipe a few days before Thanksgiving and it was a hit with absolutely everyone. I live in a high altitude area, so I added a bit more water and butter, increased the cooking temp a bit and a little less sugar (all based upon the high altitude teaching lesson on this website)...Perfect...I also did not refrigerate, but followed another users review and used my electric mixer (so easy) and after forming into balls, very close together, I plastic wrapped the dough balls and let them rise again. Baked until I saw a medium brown color. Sprayed tops of rolls and rolls on the side of pan with spray butter. So So yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM ROBERTS JOHNSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I was looking for a really easy yeast roll recipe when I came across this one. Not being the best cook in the world, I was almost intimidated but gave it a try any way. The recipe title sure fits - these are the best rolls ever. I wasn't sure what "do not punch down" meant, so I just pinched off the dough right out of the fridge and rolled it up. They turned out great. Really light, fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBLAKLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quitman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I've been looking for a recipe to match that which my grandmother would make every year for Thanksgiving and while grandma can no longer find/remember the recipe this is the closest I've ever come. I'm giving this recipe to grandma so she can start making them again. BRAVO Cara thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
These rolls are very tasty and perfect for holidays since all the work is done in advance. It's great not having to knead the dough! I've made them twice and found they're better refrigerated overnight than for just a short time. They're very rich so don't plan on guests eating many with a big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States