Best Potatoes You'll Ever Taste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
YUM!! We enjoyed these potatoes so much that we had them two nights in a row. This is what i did: I used real Mayo (not Miracle Whip) and added alittle extra garlic (because we like it). The first night I followed the recipe and boiled the potatoes and I think after the baking, they were just alittle over-cooked - SO, on the second night, I microwaved them for ~10 minutes on high. They were PERFECT after the baking. When blending the ingredients together, I litely coated the potatoes before putting them into a roasting foil bag. I tried baking in the oven (375 degrees for 20 min.) and the second night, I put the foil bag right on the BBQ. Both methods worked great! Give this recipe a try. I think you will like it. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Guys Guys Guys - its xanthe here, the recipe published omitted some crucial details. 1. Only use egg mayo - not the regular kind - that would be grose! 2. Brush or spoon on the sauce (dont triple it!) cause it needs to cook and brown - The sauce is not a dipper at all. 3. You cook this in the griller in your stove not on a barbeque at all! Line your tray with foil and you should be able to spoon off the potatoes when ready and disgard the foil - no biggie! 4. Everything else is to taste...garlic or no garlic, cheese if you like - you decide. I have had so much success at making these so I hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I'm so sorry to give a bad review. I feel bad. I didn't read any of the reviews before making this. I found that after I got my potatoes done and ready to coat with the sauce, there wasn't enough to cover them all. So I ended up tripling the sauce. I also added 1T of fresh grated parmesan cheese each time I made this. I thought the oregano to be way over powering in this. We love our potatoes and was so excited to try this, but none of us 4 adults liked them. Maybe it was my fault tripling the sauce but they weren't dripping in it, I just covered them nicely. If the sauce is good it shouldn't matter how much you use. Some people really liked this but everyones taste is different. Sorry, this wasn't to our taste. Thanks anyways Xanthe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
These were so not the best potatoes I've ever tasted. I'll definately go back to olive oil and luck of the draw seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
These are pretty good, I'm not a big potato eater. My husband liked them for a change and like another suggested I finished them in a skillet sprayed with PAM. Will make again thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
These were different. My hubby and I thought they were good but our 10 & 12 year olds found the smell of the garlic too strong. I probably won't make them again. Michele, Cambridge, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Great little potato recipe. I'll make this again next time I fire up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Great! I actually made it on the stove, doing the second part in a frying pan with some olive oil. It came out great, and everyone (including me) loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
easy, fast preparation, and everyone loved it! Have made it several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
these really are the best!! my family loves them. We followed some of the tips from other reviews and they always come out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States