Best Potatoes You'll Ever Taste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Guys Guys Guys - its xanthe here, the recipe published omitted some crucial details. 1. Only use egg mayo - not the regular kind - that would be grose! 2. Brush or spoon on the sauce (dont triple it!) cause it needs to cook and brown - The sauce is not a dipper at all. 3. You cook this in the griller in your stove not on a barbeque at all! Line your tray with foil and you should be able to spoon off the potatoes when ready and disgard the foil - no biggie! 4. Everything else is to taste...garlic or no garlic, cheese if you like - you decide. I have had so much success at making these so I hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great recipe! I used a small foil pan lightly sprayed with Pam - this always works great for potatoes on the grill. I partially microwaved the potatoes vs. boiling and added a chopped onion. I used 1/2 tsp. of oregano, 1/2 tsp. of italian seasoning, a little parsley, and added a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese to the mayo mixture. You can use light mayo as well to cut down on fat. I covered the pan with foil and these were great on the grill - perfect with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
YUM!! We enjoyed these potatoes so much that we had them two nights in a row. This is what i did: I used real Mayo (not Miracle Whip) and added alittle extra garlic (because we like it). The first night I followed the recipe and boiled the potatoes and I think after the baking, they were just alittle over-cooked - SO, on the second night, I microwaved them for ~10 minutes on high. They were PERFECT after the baking. When blending the ingredients together, I litely coated the potatoes before putting them into a roasting foil bag. I tried baking in the oven (375 degrees for 20 min.) and the second night, I put the foil bag right on the BBQ. Both methods worked great! Give this recipe a try. I think you will like it. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
DELICIOUS!I was hesitant to try this recipe because the the less than positive review. However, I used an aluminum pie plate sprayed with PAM and had no sticking problem whatsoever. The topping is even better when grated parmesan cheese is added to the mix. Made this for company last night and received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These are a solid 4 stars - I did read the submitters rating and she never intended this to be done on the outside grill - using the broiler would work great. I thought they were lacking something and added a sprinkling of Smoked Paprika and a touch of parsley. Next time I would add the smoked paprika to the mayonnaise mixture and also do a spicy dip for them. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Not our favorite. Hubby asked me why I didn't make my "normal" potatoes. After asking why...he says he likes mine much better. It was ok...but not for us. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
These were so not the best potatoes I've ever tasted. I'll definately go back to olive oil and luck of the draw seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Wow! The recipe doesn't look all that impressive, but these are the most flavorful potatoes I've ever made on the grill. Only a couple of them stuck to the foil, so next time I'll definitely use some PAM spray. I also used three huge cloves of garlic--some of the zing mellows from the grill. Thanks for an incredible recipe. I'll make these for every BBQ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Oh dear - so sorry - really wanted to like, but not for us. Thanks for recipe, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
good, not the best I will ever taste. It seems the original recipe was not very clear as the person who wrote it had to writes some clarification. I did like them. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States