Best Potatoes Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
TASTY! Very simple to make and substitute olive oil for ghee if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Excellent. I'm giving 4 stars because I accidentally added cardamom thinking it was coriander. When I realized my mistake I went ahead and added coriander as well. I also used 2 serrano peppers. This dish reminds me of a potato sabzi I used to make but I don't have the recipe handy and I can't recall the precise ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcie
Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These are delicious. I wish more of the flavors made it onto the potatoes. Mine tasted mostly just like home fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I am giving this three stars because as it is, it is just OK. I doubled the spices and it was much better. Very enjoyable - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I just made these and all I can say is "wow"!! They are so good, I didn't have any chilies so I just left them out and with the chili powder, they were spicy enough for me but I will make them again with the green chilies and I am sure they will be great!! Thank you so much for this recipe, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We definitely enjoyed these and I will be making again. I used more than 4 potatoes and bumped up all ingredients from there. I used a bit of poblano peppers as I was not quite sure which kind to use. I think I will try it again with Anaheim. Did not have amchoor so used fresh lemon juice. Did add a bit of tumeric for color. Skipped the fresh cilantro as we ate from pots on the stove. I'll definitely use this recipe again as it is such a welcome change of taste for potatoes. Family ate it down to the last speck, but was waiting for rave reviews. Everyone thought they were very tasty, but no one was raving about them which is what usually happens. A keeper? Absolutely. If I ever find amchoor, will try them again and revise the stars upward, if warranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Made this recipe last night with the girlfriend. I've never been clear about what a chili pepper is exactly, so we used fresh Serranos. I recommend 1, not 2, for the average eater. Sour cream was nice on them. Served with a Yogurt Drizzled Spicy South Indian Chicken, salad, and Plum Wine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made these today and only changed 2 things [as other reviewers suggested]. I used sesame oil and lemon. Very awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Added tumeric and garam masala to the boiling potatoes. Also had to use lemon juice as I did not have mango powder. Also used sesame oil as I did not have clarified ghee, could have used peanut or vegetable oil. Might be nice with a 1/4 up of frozen coconut and for a filling meal, add a can of drained chick peas. Very good and nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
this is so easy to make and yummy! it would make a great dosa filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States