Best Potatoes Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
this is so easy to make and yummy! it would make a great dosa filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made these today and only changed 2 things [as other reviewers suggested]. I used sesame oil and lemon. Very awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Wow, these ARE good. the first time i made this dish, i boiled the potatoes too long so this turned out more like indian mashed potatoes. very very spicy stuff, but its also very good. the second time, today, they were perfect. im eating a bowl of it rite now and i have a huge jug of water next to me. we really liked this, but its not recomended for young childern. but for teens and adults, this stuff is great! to bring down the heat a bit, i served this with some sour cream at the side. thanx RG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I couldn't find amchoor - I don't have a lot of south asian markets here. I mottied the chiles and served with lemon pickle (not everyone's cup of tea I know!!!), and it was very nice. I added some turmeric for colour and my guest (who declined the lemon pickle) was very happy. I serbed it with shaag paneer and garlic parathas (I cheated on these and picked them up from my local Indian restaurant). This would make an excellent stuffing for a Dosa with some sambal, mint or onion chutney as condiment. Next time and it will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Really tasty, though I couldn't find any amchoor in the couple of stores I checked in. I used one big anaheim pepper, ground ginger and a bit of dried cilantro as substitutes, along with just regular margarine. These were good and spicy, and went really well with the honey and curry chicken that I made along with it. I'd definitely make them again, whether or not I find the amchoor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
this recipe goes well with chapati. while boiling the potato i added a pinch of tumeric pwdr and a pinch of garam masala. i also added methi leaves in the end wd the cilantro. this is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Thanks for taking the time to add this very traditional Indian recipe! I have prepared and eaten it all my life. You can pretty much change the proportion of all spices and condiments to match your taste. So feel free to cut down on chillies. If you do not have dried mango power, just use fresh lemon juice and it will be just as good. For a different twist, add 1/4 cup thawed frozen coconut - this is very traditional around the Indian coast. Also, use peanut or vegetable oil instead of ghee to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yum. I used ground cumin instead of seeds, lemon juice instead of mango powder, and added coconut (as suggested by another member). I'll definetly make these again ... like, tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
We loved these potatoes. Such a delicious combination of flavors! The amchoor really adds that extra touch. I used two yellow sweet potatoes and two white potatoes--both worked well with the flavors. I used coconut oil instead of ghee, and I took another reviewer's suggestion and added coconut (dried and unsweetened). I'll make this exactly the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Made this recipe last night with the girlfriend. I've never been clear about what a chili pepper is exactly, so we used fresh Serranos. I recommend 1, not 2, for the average eater. Sour cream was nice on them. Served with a Yogurt Drizzled Spicy South Indian Chicken, salad, and Plum Wine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States