Best Potatoes Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Wow, these ARE good. the first time i made this dish, i boiled the potatoes too long so this turned out more like indian mashed potatoes. very very spicy stuff, but its also very good. the second time, today, they were perfect. im eating a bowl of it rite now and i have a huge jug of water next to me. we really liked this, but its not recomended for young childern. but for teens and adults, this stuff is great! to bring down the heat a bit, i served this with some sour cream at the side. thanx RG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I couldn't find amchoor - I don't have a lot of south asian markets here. I mottied the chiles and served with lemon pickle (not everyone's cup of tea I know!!!), and it was very nice. I added some turmeric for colour and my guest (who declined the lemon pickle) was very happy. I serbed it with shaag paneer and garlic parathas (I cheated on these and picked them up from my local Indian restaurant). This would make an excellent stuffing for a Dosa with some sambal, mint or onion chutney as condiment. Next time and it will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Really tasty, though I couldn't find any amchoor in the couple of stores I checked in. I used one big anaheim pepper, ground ginger and a bit of dried cilantro as substitutes, along with just regular margarine. These were good and spicy, and went really well with the honey and curry chicken that I made along with it. I'd definitely make them again, whether or not I find the amchoor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
this recipe goes well with chapati. while boiling the potato i added a pinch of tumeric pwdr and a pinch of garam masala. i also added methi leaves in the end wd the cilantro. this is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Thanks for taking the time to add this very traditional Indian recipe! I have prepared and eaten it all my life. You can pretty much change the proportion of all spices and condiments to match your taste. So feel free to cut down on chillies. If you do not have dried mango power, just use fresh lemon juice and it will be just as good. For a different twist, add 1/4 cup thawed frozen coconut - this is very traditional around the Indian coast. Also, use peanut or vegetable oil instead of ghee to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yum. I used ground cumin instead of seeds, lemon juice instead of mango powder, and added coconut (as suggested by another member). I'll definetly make these again ... like, tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I cooked an all Indian dinner for me and my husband last week. We both love the flavours from India, and living in the Netherlands we have several excellent Indian restaurants nearby. Since I lost my job one month ago unexpectedly, I have time now to enjoy my passion for cooking ethnic food. We loved these potatoes! I can handle much spicier food than my husband, so I cut down on the spicier items...I do not think it was necessary...my husband would have liked the potatoes a little less dry...will try perhaps the suggestion of peanut oil next time. OH! I found the mango powder at at specicialty shop only 4 blocks from my house!! Curious to see how it is next time! A real winner recipe! Thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
These potatoes were good but a bit dry. Next time I'll make them spicier and find some way to make them saucier. I added a can of rinsed and drained chickpeas to make a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good and a great alternative to heavier tasting Indian dishes. Even better overnight. I didn't have mango powder and just added lemon juice to taste instead. I'd love to see how this tastes with the mango powder tho' - maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
We loved these potatoes. Such a delicious combination of flavors! The amchoor really adds that extra touch. I used two yellow sweet potatoes and two white potatoes--both worked well with the flavors. I used coconut oil instead of ghee, and I took another reviewer's suggestion and added coconut (dried and unsweetened). I'll make this exactly the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States