Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
My family is from Amish Country in Lancaster, PA, so this was a favorite dish of mine growing up. This recipe really nails it! The only change I would suggest is to double or triple the amount of dumplings. You could also substitute egg noodles or ready made dumplings like Annie's from the frozen section of your grocery. If you were being super picky, you could also double the amount of boiled egg to the soup. It's perfect though. I also suggest making this soup over two days so that you can thoroughly separate the fat from the soup as it completely cools in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
PERFECT!!!! My Dad told me that this is the best chicken corn soup he has ever ate! I double sometimes even triple the dumpling recipe and I do cut back on salt a tad! Highly recommend, I like to put it in Tupperware and freeze the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I didn't have time to do the refrigeration step, I used more corn and chicken since my husband doesn't like brothy soup, and I added salt and pepper to taste - and there was rave reviews. My husband thought that the one change that should be made was possibly adding a little sugar, so I might try that next time :-) - and there definitely will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Turned out well. Added the spices and vinegar in a bowl while browning chicken, onions and fresh garlic 2 large cloves. Added the sauce and let simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
You have got to try this one!!! I made a double batch of rivels to go with my 8qt recipe. I am now officially the best cook in the world..LOL. Says the fiance anyway. I made a few adjustments/additions..used thyme and a little garlic powder. I also only used chicken thighs. I didn't solidify the fat. That's where all the flavor is girls! I guess it's a personal preference on the fat. Such a gorgeous color of the broth. This soup is just oozing with LOVE...It took me 4 hours, but sooo worth the effort. I suggest making alot so you can freeze it. Do not add eggs to the entire batch if you intend to freeze. Only add eggs as you serve. The eggs wont freeze well. The perfect cold weather cure. Add some hot chocolate and marshmallows and you wont want to leave the house. Ever...Blessed be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made several times. Always great. Used some canned niblet and cream corn. As much to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I've made this type of Chicken Corn Soup since I was about 8 years old. We have Pa Dutch in our family, and the ONLY difference to mine is that I add noodles, and we call the "dumplings".. rivels. Other than that, this is the exact same recipe, and it's my favorite soup there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Soup was good, but needed something extra as far as flavor goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Being from Penna I had the basics for this recipe. Not sure were the nutmeg fits in so I didn't sue it. Saffron is the key.. Just a small pinch.. No milk needed rivels are just egg, flour and salt. Good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My mom side is from Lancaster County, PA and we've grown up on this soup. A few tips to help the process go faster. You can cook the chicken (I'm using chicken breasts) on a skillet and either shred or cut into small pieces and then add it to the soup so you don't have to do all that fat skimming. Cuts some time out. Then just add the chicken to the rest of the soup. Also for making the rivols (flour egg mixture) you can use a fork to scoop a little out at a time and drop it into the soup. This method makes them not so thick and huge. I like them more bite sized, but that is a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States