Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
As a true born and raised Lancaster County native…I must say, this recipe really does capture the authentic “Pennsylvania Dutch” recipe you will find at the local Fairs or Festivals! I did add some additional seasonings to my taste…tarragon, white pepper, saffron, and a dash of poultry seasoning. For the rivels, the trick is to make little pea size balls of dough, if not, the dish would be more like chicken and dumplings. I made this for my sick niece one weekend we were snowed in together, and it was a perfect snowy winter night dinner to sooth a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is more like 4.5 stars because it was very salty (but good!). I skipped the dumplings and added carrots toward the end. Also used chicken breasts (which I then shredded), so less fat and less time since no skimming needed. Will definitely keep in my recipe box but use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
OMG, we had to adapt this recipe a little, using canned broth & chopped chicken breasts due to time constraints, as well as needing a lower fat recipe for my mother-in-law; however every member of the family loved it! The soup was gone before I even got a second bowl. My very picky nephew ate 3 bowls!!! I am so happy, as this really brings back my PA Dutch heritage. I was even asked to make it again this weekend, which I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This recipe was so easy to follow and the results were delicious. I made it for a neighborhood gathering on Halloween night and it was a hit! It was almost like being back in Lancaster County. I especially loved the little dumplings... they made this more than an average soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
An excellent recipe, and very close to "Grandma's Chicken Corn Soup" recipe (from Lancaster, PA) given to me. Best part of the recipe: refrigerating and removing the chicken fat. Suggested improvements: 1. Much less salt (perhaps just 1/2 Tbsp), then salt servings to taste 2. Include the celery leaves in with the celery 3. Add 1/2 TBsp dried parsley 4. (crucial for a "thicker texture") substitute canned cream corn for some of the fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Sperrazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I'm from Pennsylvania and always look forward to chicken corn soup at craft shows and fairs. This was easy and very similar to the chicken corn soups I usually buy. I used homemade egg noodles in place of the rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Excellent flavor!...being from Lancaster County I am always looking for that great chicken corn soup recipe. Found it here & it's a keeper! Didn't change a thing! Makes a lot...froze some for next week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is very authentic with outstanding instructions and delicious results. Came out better than the batch I made from an old pa dutch cookbook; putting the chicken back in too soon leads to shredded chicken. Sometimes instead of rivels I add a few handfuls of packaged homestyle egg noodles. Thanks for a great recipe Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Superb! The thing you have to understand about THIS recipe is that it is a WAY OF LIFE in Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Yes, soup - a way of life. It is what brings communities together! This very recipe! (Okay, except cut the salt to tsp's instead of Tablespoons!) It is not Pot Pie, it isn't supposed to have extra herbs or spices. This is the traditional way to make this fantastic soup that is served in every home, at Fire Halls, family gatherings, Bingo Night, Church Groups, carnivals, sports events, and even some Flea Markets. I understand about the frozen vs. fresh corn because it might not be in season, but in PA Dutch Country - Cornfields ARE EVERYWHERE! It's corn country, it's cow country, it's pretzel country - it is Chicken Corn Noodle Soup country! And ... it is awful to miss the food from there and then hear people giving this recipe 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I read all of the reviews and modifications but opted to follow the recipe without any changes and WOW was I rewarded. The nutmeg adds a slight sweetness to the chicken and; the (generous) onions and salt make the perfect broth. Five stars does not do this recipe justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyMe350

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States