Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I'm from Pennsylvania and always look forward to chicken corn soup at craft shows and fairs. This was easy and very similar to the chicken corn soups I usually buy. I used homemade egg noodles in place of the rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've tried to make soup like this before and it always turned out "okay." This recipe was great!!! My soup turned out better than ever. I want to note that I used corn that I froze fresh from the cob and I added some dutch egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHAUMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reedsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
this was good - not to die for, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
My 11-year old declared this "the best chicken soup you've ever made, mom!" We all loved it, but next time I'll make more dumplings, as everyone was picking through the pot to get more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was great! Time consuming, but worth it! My boyfriend made rice to put in it once it was ready, but there was so much stuff in the soup that we didn't end up using any of the rice! Hearty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
OMG, we had to adapt this recipe a little, using canned broth & chopped chicken breasts due to time constraints, as well as needing a lower fat recipe for my mother-in-law; however every member of the family loved it! The soup was gone before I even got a second bowl. My very picky nephew ate 3 bowls!!! I am so happy, as this really brings back my PA Dutch heritage. I was even asked to make it again this weekend, which I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Excellent flavor!...being from Lancaster County I am always looking for that great chicken corn soup recipe. Found it here & it's a keeper! Didn't change a thing! Makes a lot...froze some for next week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is more like 4.5 stars because it was very salty (but good!). I skipped the dumplings and added carrots toward the end. Also used chicken breasts (which I then shredded), so less fat and less time since no skimming needed. Will definitely keep in my recipe box but use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
As a true born and raised Lancaster County native…I must say, this recipe really does capture the authentic “Pennsylvania Dutch” recipe you will find at the local Fairs or Festivals! I did add some additional seasonings to my taste…tarragon, white pepper, saffron, and a dash of poultry seasoning. For the rivels, the trick is to make little pea size balls of dough, if not, the dish would be more like chicken and dumplings. I made this for my sick niece one weekend we were snowed in together, and it was a perfect snowy winter night dinner to sooth a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Tastes fine, but it's just chicken soup with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States