Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Love it! I love to see a real Pennsylvania dutch recipe posted somewhere other than a local paper! I just wish people wouldn't review it if you don't follow thru with the rivels and boiling chicken with bones - that's the whole point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I normally tinker with recipes as I go but I barely changed a thing, although I did halve the recipe and left out the boiled eggs because my son won't eat them and the nutmeg because I forgot it! The dumplings really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
My husband and I are both from PA dutch country. My grandmother made it for me, and so did his. I've never had it with dumplings though, so we skipped that. And I thought the nutmeg was completely unnecessary, that didn't seem very "authentic" to us. All it needed was salt and pepper. We adjusted those to our personal tastes. I also used breast tenders because I try not to deal with whole chickens unless I have to (the backbone freaks me out, haha), and the tenders are cheaper than the breasts, but work great in a soup. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I love love love this soup! As a kid my mom and my grandmother would make chicken corn soup once a year and I would eat it for days on end. After I moved out I think they stopped making it (or at least they didn't share). For years I missed it and decided to find my own recipe. This one is by far the best I've ever had. I really love the dumplings, so I add extra. It lasts me for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I love this recipe! Since moving to the South, I dont get Chicken Corn Soup often, but this recipe is relatively easy to make and tastes ALMOST as good as my grandmothers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
being a true PA dutch native, the suggestion of other spices makes me laugh. but do try adding a can of creamed corn and 2 cans of white corn if you do not have fresh white sweet corn. in lancaster county, the yellow corn is for the cows! i agree that this is way too much salt. i cut most of that out and added a bit of chicken soup paste. this is the cure for all that ails my children. yum. a taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
oh my lord ive died and have gone back to lancaster, PA. Traditional, authentic, homemade taste. I loved the rivets. They tasted like homemade noodles without the work. I made this recipe as written, except i used frozen sweet corn. Fresh, out of season. i plan on making this for a neighbor of mine, who also used to live near lancaster. Their gonna love it!!! Thanks for the recipe and the memories Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is excellent. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can add other spices if you wish and the taste can be customized for you. I added some basil, thyme, and some garlic salt. It was perfect for me because I used the left of turkey from Thanksgiving in it instead of chicken. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is very authentic with outstanding instructions and delicious results. Came out better than the batch I made from an old pa dutch cookbook; putting the chicken back in too soon leads to shredded chicken. Sometimes instead of rivels I add a few handfuls of packaged homestyle egg noodles. Thanks for a great recipe Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Just like my Great Grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States