Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used less salt also...I don't put the pot in the fridge in the winter...I set it outside...natural refrigeration...cools faster and doesn't make my fridge work harder which everybody knows costs a lot...I also add creamed corn to thicken...almost as good as my aunt's recipe...the cook diva of my family...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this is an exellant recipe , my favorite chicken corn soup has to be from mcormicks homemade soups .. they are at the bloomsburg fair every year , homemade dumplings and everything but i definately reccomend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I read all of the reviews and modifications but opted to follow the recipe without any changes and WOW was I rewarded. The nutmeg adds a slight sweetness to the chicken and; the (generous) onions and salt make the perfect broth. Five stars does not do this recipe justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyMe350

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Yum! I went an easy route by using stock, chicken breasts and canned corn (I know, it's not a very true recreation) and it was delicious. Loved the dumplings. One day when I have a lot of time I will have to try the true version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'm from PA and this is a 5 star corn soup recipe. Don't skip the FRESH CORN on the cob cuz thats the secret ingredient !!! Family and the neighbors keep asking me to make more and todays cold rainy weather is the perfect day to make it. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
SAFFRON is the authentic spice for traditional Lancaster County soup. Remember those little yellow spice envelopes at the checkout counters? If you don't have time to make rivels flour tortillas cut into half inch squares are an excellent substitute. The recipe makes a lot, you can take some out and freeze BEFORE adding chopped egg or rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
OMG I've died and gone to Lancaster County, where I was born and raised! This soup is so good I can't begin to describe the excellent flavor Well worth the time it takes to put together. The only changes I made was the corn, since this time of year there is no fresh corn available, I used 3 cans of white corn, drained. I also did not use the nutmeg as my mom told me that was not in my grandmother's original recipe and only used 1 tblsp. of salt. This is the bomb and will be made over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
An excellent recipe, and very close to "Grandma's Chicken Corn Soup" recipe (from Lancaster, PA) given to me. Best part of the recipe: refrigerating and removing the chicken fat. Suggested improvements: 1. Much less salt (perhaps just 1/2 Tbsp), then salt servings to taste 2. Include the celery leaves in with the celery 3. Add 1/2 TBsp dried parsley 4. (crucial for a "thicker texture") substitute canned cream corn for some of the fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Sperrazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Fantastic Soup!!! Worth all of the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
When the weather cools, every Sunday I make soup. I normally make extra to have on our late dinner work days. I used chicken breasts, it is what I had on hand. The only changes I made were frozen corn, one canned cream corn and about 1/2 t of poultry seasoning. Since i was making this recipe at the request of my sweetie I made he home made egg noodles (from this site). My mom used to call this chiken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States