Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Yum! I went an easy route by using stock, chicken breasts and canned corn (I know, it's not a very true recreation) and it was delicious. Loved the dumplings. One day when I have a lot of time I will have to try the true version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'm from PA and this is a 5 star corn soup recipe. Don't skip the FRESH CORN on the cob cuz thats the secret ingredient !!! Family and the neighbors keep asking me to make more and todays cold rainy weather is the perfect day to make it. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
SAFFRON is the authentic spice for traditional Lancaster County soup. Remember those little yellow spice envelopes at the checkout counters? If you don't have time to make rivels flour tortillas cut into half inch squares are an excellent substitute. The recipe makes a lot, you can take some out and freeze BEFORE adding chopped egg or rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
OMG I've died and gone to Lancaster County, where I was born and raised! This soup is so good I can't begin to describe the excellent flavor Well worth the time it takes to put together. The only changes I made was the corn, since this time of year there is no fresh corn available, I used 3 cans of white corn, drained. I also did not use the nutmeg as my mom told me that was not in my grandmother's original recipe and only used 1 tblsp. of salt. This is the bomb and will be made over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
An excellent recipe, and very close to "Grandma's Chicken Corn Soup" recipe (from Lancaster, PA) given to me. Best part of the recipe: refrigerating and removing the chicken fat. Suggested improvements: 1. Much less salt (perhaps just 1/2 Tbsp), then salt servings to taste 2. Include the celery leaves in with the celery 3. Add 1/2 TBsp dried parsley 4. (crucial for a "thicker texture") substitute canned cream corn for some of the fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Sperrazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Fantastic Soup!!! Worth all of the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
When the weather cools, every Sunday I make soup. I normally make extra to have on our late dinner work days. I used chicken breasts, it is what I had on hand. The only changes I made were frozen corn, one canned cream corn and about 1/2 t of poultry seasoning. Since i was making this recipe at the request of my sweetie I made he home made egg noodles (from this site). My mom used to call this chiken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very impressive. I doubled the salt and pepper and add another teaspoon of nutmeg. I used some egg noodles as well as the rivels, it would have been fine with just the rivels. This recipe is really an all day affair, it takes alot of time, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Love it! I love to see a real Pennsylvania dutch recipe posted somewhere other than a local paper! I just wish people wouldn't review it if you don't follow thru with the rivels and boiling chicken with bones - that's the whole point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I normally tinker with recipes as I go but I barely changed a thing, although I did halve the recipe and left out the boiled eggs because my son won't eat them and the nutmeg because I forgot it! The dumplings really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States