Best Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This would have received 5 stars had it not taken me literally all day to make. The fat never solidified, so I waited, and waited, and waited, until I finally just tried to soak up what I could with paper towels. I'm sure there is some technique that I just didn't know. The rivels did not turn out great, at all. Again, I'm sure it was due to the fact I've never made them before, but next time I think I'll just sub some egg noodles. Otherwise, this soup hit the spot on this yucky, rainy day! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Having been born and raised in Mifflin County, PA ( big Amish population), this was alright. A bit salty and left out the nutmeg. Never heard of nutmeg in chicken corn soup. Having been around Amish my whole life, never heard of any of them putting it in either. Pretty good. Rivels rival my grandmothers and hers are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Just incredible. Making a big pot was so worth the time. I added egg drop at the very end and it gave it the perfect texture I was looking for. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Superb! The thing you have to understand about THIS recipe is that it is a WAY OF LIFE in Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Yes, soup - a way of life. It is what brings communities together! This very recipe! (Okay, except cut the salt to tsp's instead of Tablespoons!) It is not Pot Pie, it isn't supposed to have extra herbs or spices. This is the traditional way to make this fantastic soup that is served in every home, at Fire Halls, family gatherings, Bingo Night, Church Groups, carnivals, sports events, and even some Flea Markets. I understand about the frozen vs. fresh corn because it might not be in season, but in PA Dutch Country - Cornfields ARE EVERYWHERE! It's corn country, it's cow country, it's pretzel country - it is Chicken Corn Noodle Soup country! And ... it is awful to miss the food from there and then hear people giving this recipe 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My family and I loved this. It is a very flexible recipe that allowed me to adapt it for gluten free, use a chicken carcass and add more veggies. I added leftover chicken carcass, 6 cups LOW sodium chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups leftover veggies, chopped onion, chopped celery, nutmeg, black pepper, 6 mini ears of corn, and rivels made with 3/4 cup gluten free pizza crust mix, 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk, 2 tablespoon olive oil, 1 egg, and 1 tablespoon italian seasoning. I also left the corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
only gave this 3* since it has WAY to much salt,and I also agree that this is more like chicken & dumplings than chicken corn soup..I made rivals,other than that a good recipe.Also omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This sounds like an excellent recipe--quite similar to the one that I've used with much appreciation--however, rivels and dumplings are not the same thing. These are, in fact little dumplings (as the "intro" paragraph explains). Rivels, however, do not have milk in them. They are generally just egg, flour and salt. Their taste & texture are a bit differen. Rivels (and probably dumplings) can also become "smothered" if they are covered while cooling, as the steam makes their consistency a bit soggy--more like dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I thought this tasted okay. The major down side is it is really "SALTY." I really believe there is a (mis-print on the salt) and could be cut back to nearly half of what is written and be plenty. I am kind of thinking it should say 2 1/2 tsp and not Tblsp. Extra salt can be added later if it is needed, but not taken out. I wanted to make homemade soup to get that fresh taste without the canned broth saltiness and had chose this. It is also very "time-consuming" and the recipe makes a lot more than suggested. I had to cook the soup in a large dutch oven pot and my largest sauce pan to hold it all with the recipe as written. I did like the fresh cut corn and the rivets, which I have never eaten before. But, overall for time it took and the amount of dishes I had to wash I was very dissapointed that the predominant flavor in the soup was salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Not bad, a little bland for my taste. I had a chicken corn soup at a Dutch market in Maryland recently and I guess I was expecting it to taste like this. When I reheat it I will probably add some garlic powder, onion powder, and salt. I think I will probably thicken it a little as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used less salt also...I don't put the pot in the fridge in the winter...I set it outside...natural refrigeration...cools faster and doesn't make my fridge work harder which everybody knows costs a lot...I also add creamed corn to thicken...almost as good as my aunt's recipe...the cook diva of my family...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States