Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by anneke
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is a great recipes but I did make a few revisions to make it even better. Instead of two cup white sugar I used 1 cup white and one cup brown, I also only used used one tsp baking powder. The recipe creates a firm dough and maintains is "criss cross" shape. well. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I've been making these for years. (The recipe I have calls for just one egg, and no salt or soda.) The quality of the peanut butter makes a big difference in how these turn out. Since I make these for a friend who is a celiac, I use an old-fashion pb that is made with just ground peanuts. The cookies are much tastier than ones made with pb that has oil, sugar, mono- and di-glycerides and such. I've discovered a few things that make these easier to make. I don't measure the peanut butter, I just use an entire 18 ounce jar. I line the cookie sheet with aluminum foil, I don't try to move individual cookies to the cooling rack, I just slide the foil on to the cooling racks. I usually make a BIG batch of dough (2 or 3 jars) and shape most of the dough into 2 inch diameter rolls, wrap in foil and freeze. They keep for several months. When I'm ready to bake then, I let the dough thaw just a bit and slice it into 1/4 in slices and bake as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe for peanut butter cookies, but I have to rate it only 4 stars because of the changes I make to get the best results. I cannot emphasize enough...NATURAL peanut butter. And not that new "natural-no-stir" garbage. Also, the sugar is a bit much for my taste, so I do as other reviewers and decrease by half a cup. If you're having trouble getting the consistency you want, don't be afraid to throw in a couple tablespoons of flour. White chocolate chunks will make an unforgettable combo. Again, I cannot emphasize enough, NATURAL peanut butter – the results will literally melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
To make these cookies even simpler: 1 cup of peanut butter, 1 egg and 1/2 cup sugar 1/2 cup choc chips (optional). They always turn out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
awesome cookies. The thing is, if you like cakey cookies, you won't like these. If you like flat cookies that are crispy on the outside and a little chewy in the center, these are the cookies for you. These DO spread, so give them the 2 inches between each cookie if you want nice looking cookies. Definitely do as others have and cut that sugar down by 1/2 a cup. I got EXACTLY 36 cookies out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I'm not a big fan of peanut butter cookies, but this is the exception. I made a few adjustments and now these are my favorite cookies ever! I used all natural peanut butter, cut the sugar by 1/2 cup, omitted the salt, and added 3/4 cup chocolate chunks. The result is a batch of wonderfully fragrant, nutty cookies that are neither too chewy nor too crispy. I tried this same recipe in a pinch with regular peanut butter and it was nowhere near as good; it tasted like most p.b. cookies to me, sweet and bland. Try it with natural peanut butter, and you'll never turn back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I made these cookies using splenda and I am just thrilled with the results! They held together well and tasted great. They were a little dry but that is probably because of using splenda instead of sugar. But that's ok, when it comes to sugar free and low carb foods, you can't expect perfection. I figured this out to be approximately 2.5 carbs per cookie and if you use all natural peanut butter it has 0 sugar content! I used a cheap off brand peanut butter and they had a perfect shape! So this is a great low carb cookie as well as perfect for the diabetic! THANK YOU!!! God bless you for sharing this, I know that my Pastor will be thrilled when he gets these sugar free cookies (he's diabetic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I've made these for years, and almost always just bake them without pressing down, then push a chocolate kiss into them as soon as they come out of the oven. A note to the reviewer who had trouble with crumbling. I've learned that this recipe has to be made with brand name/high quality peanut butter. They can turn out either crumbly or like hockey pucks, otherwise! I cannot taste an appreciable difference in most peanut butters, but I do know that there is *something* different, and that difference makes a big difference in these cookies. Some store brand etc. pbs will work, but it's hit-&-miss, trial-&-error to figure out which will and which won't. It's easier to me to just make sure I've got Jif or something comparable on hand to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
OMG!! First, these are ingrediants that are always found in the kitchen so you can make these in a moments thought. Second, these are so so good!! This will be my household peanut butter cookie recipe for now on. I finally found a peanut butter cookie where you can actually taste peanut butter, and I do NOT think it is overwhelming. The texture was even perfect for rolling the balls. I pressed the balls lightly with a fork before baking. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Excellent recipe, fast,easy and very good! I used a 28 oz jar of peanut butter. Also rolled them in sugar, baked them and put hershey kisses in the middle when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States