Best Peach Cobbler Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Very sweet, moist, juicy, and just plain delicious. The directions in the recipe do not say to pour the contents of the bowl with the peaches over the "dough", it says to spoon the peaches over the dough. Therefore, do not pour all the liquid from that bowl onto your dough...otherwise it will get sloppy. When you "spoon" something up, you are suppose to leave the liquid behind. This is a perfect tasting cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This will DEFINITELY be the peach cobbler that I make from now on! I did make few changes, though. First, I added more than a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the peach mixture-about 1/4 teaspoon of each. Next, I also added about 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the mixtue. To combat the extra juiciness, I replaced the cornstarch with 6 tablespoons of flour. Then, I scooped out approximately 1/2 cup of the peach mixture liquid. Another key is allowing the cobbler to "set" after it comes out of the oven. Just let it rest for about 30 minutes to allow the juices to thicken. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
At midnight last night my husband sprang the information of a family get together today. Our part was to bring a dessert. Having just been to our local market, I had a nice fresh basket of peaches and some wild blueberries on hand. I whipped this together in no time. In this recipe I did not add any butter to the fruit mix, only the melted butter in the baking pan. I used 4 fresh peaches and about 1 cup of blueberries. After reading previous reviews, I decided to only use 1/4 cup of water. I also used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour. Cooking time for me was only 45 minutes. The result? Yummy, moist, everybody raved! Personally, I wasn't keen on the whole wheat flour, and I like my cobbler quite cakey, so I'd double the batter next time. Definitely a big thumbs up here! I will make it again. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very yummy peach cobbler! I followed the recipe almost exactly, using five large fresh peaches instead of canned peaches. I peeled them and cut into wedges. I love how the cobbler rises to the top around the peaches! I did have to cook for 90 minutes instead of 60 minutes, as it was still doughy at the recommended time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
My family loved it!! I was out of cornstarch, but I replaced it with 6 Tablespoons of flour. You can replace flour for cornstarch. 1 teaspoon of cornstarch = 2 Tablespoons of flour. For the person who used 10 year old Baking powder, you can replace it with...1 teaspoon of baking powder = 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar plus 1/4 teaspoon Baking soda. The only thing I would change on this recipe is to double the batter....I perfer more of the cake part of it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This was just the thing I was looking for. The "cobbler" part was soft and cakey, and you couldn't tell the peaches were canned. I was confused about whether to add all of the liquid or not, so I just added what looked right (about half), and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was DELICIOUS - the only peach cobbler recipe I'll use for now on! I followed others' advice and omited the water and used about half the peach juice, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was a good recipe but it was a bit on the soggy side even though I baked it longer than an hour. Now that I look at past reviews, I know now not to include the juice with the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
THis recipe is very similar to the cobbler that my Grandmother used to make without a recipe. It only missed the five star rating as it was a bit runny. I agree with other reviews to reduced the liquid in the peach mixture and perhaps a slightly smaller dish. Otherwise it brought back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have looked for years for the perfect cobbler recipe and believe me this is it!!! Must confess I read many of the reviews before trying; making few changes. Added more peaches; substituted 1/2 cup juice for water. I love spices so added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Mixed spices with cornstarch and heated on low to thicken. Eliminated salt in batter and added 1-tsp. vanilla. Reduced size of pan to 8"x11" glass and baked for 45-minutes. Allowed it to set for 1-hour before serving. I have just tried a small dish before serving my husband. It is absolutely "out of this world". Will never look further for cobbler recipe. Thanks ever so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States