Best Peach Cobbler Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is very easy and tasty. I halved the recipe and cooked it for less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I used frozen peaches and this cobbler was the best ever - not at all sloppy. I also used buttermilk plus 1 tsp. of baking soda instead of fresh milk and baking powder. I'm not a fan of nutmeg so I substituted 1 tsp. of almond flavoring. It was delicious - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have looked for years for the perfect cobbler recipe and believe me this is it!!! Must confess I read many of the reviews before trying; making few changes. Added more peaches; substituted 1/2 cup juice for water. I love spices so added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Mixed spices with cornstarch and heated on low to thicken. Eliminated salt in batter and added 1-tsp. vanilla. Reduced size of pan to 8"x11" glass and baked for 45-minutes. Allowed it to set for 1-hour before serving. I have just tried a small dish before serving my husband. It is absolutely "out of this world". Will never look further for cobbler recipe. Thanks ever so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I baked it for 2 hours and it's still just a soupy mess with a few (4?) spots of biscuit that are brown on top and like pudding underneath. I let it cool for a while but it's basically still full of liquid uncooked biscuit mixed into the peaches. There was so much butter that I had to use 4 layers of paper towels to soak it all up from the top. I'm really upset that I used up $10 of nice fresh organic peaches for this mess. And yes, I've gone back through and confirmed that all the right amounts were put into everything. I even made sure to spoon the peaches onto the batter so there was juice left behind, as one reviewer said. I have no idea how other people managed to have success. Next time, I'm sticking to putting the biscuit mix on top the way I've always done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Best cobbler I’ve baked; comes close to Mom Hatter’s recipe 50+ years ago. Am sensitive to sugar products so purchased canned peaches in extra light syrup. Drained syrup, then used 1/2 cup in place of water (thanks Shayla). Microwaved juice 20 seconds so cornstarch wouldn’t clump up (it was smooth). Melted 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter in baking dish while oven heated; excellent idea – removed dish before butter burned and set aside. Omitted pinch of salt since I used salted butter. Other than using peach juice for water, I added 1-1/4 teaspoons of sugar (right amount for me) to the additional cinnamon and nutmeg. Baked 50 minutes. When pulled from oven, cobbler was very juicy. However, once cooled down most of the juice had gone into the cobbler "cake". Ate it warm, without ice cream. Like Breebugs, I could have eaten the whole thing but am saving it for the weekend. GREAT TASTE, NOT SWEET (due to extra light syrup). Thanks Jill for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I love this recipe. My mom made it when I was a kid and my children and I still make it every summer. I make the cake 1 1/2 times the recipe and have the butter melting in the pan as the oven preheats. It's ready by the time the batter is done. We just put fresh or canned fruit (minus the juice) over the top and sprinkle with sugar, you can add cinnamon and nutmeg, then bake. Amazing with fresh blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
OMG! This was so good. My children loved it. We ate the entire pan the same night I made it. Now I have to make more. Thanks for sharing! I am going to use this recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was very easy to make. I used fresh peaches instead of can. The fresh peaches staied a little firmer than the can. It taste like something my grandma use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
It was Great! I was afraid it wasn't going to turn out from the looks of the mix. It turn out great, I will be using this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Excellent cobbler. I just made it. I did a bit of adjusting. I added more cinnamon and nutmeg, and added a bit of lemon juice to freshen the taste of the peaches. Also, once I mixed all of the ingredients for the peaches together, I heated the mixture up and let the peaches cook a bit. I added the cornstarch to the heated mixture thus removing the too much liquid issue people seemed to have because the juice thickened up before I put it over the batter. All in all I will probably make this a lot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States