Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Smelled awesome, but the top was a bit over done and the middle not so much. I'll try it again because in spite of this, the taste was still ok. I think if the bread was cubed it would have made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this recipe non dairy for my milk allergic kid, by using Earth Balance spread for butter, Almond milk 3/4 cup, whole wheat bread with no milk, and I upped the eggs to 8 to make sure the bread was very saturated, I also added vanilla, about 1 tbsp, but you could use vanilla almond milk instead. We really liked this, but it is super sweet, it is a special occassion type breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Humble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My son doesn't often comment about food I cook for him, but when I served this for Christmas breakfast his jaw dropped. This will be a staple for future special breakfasts. I followed the recipe almost to a tee except I added a seventh egg. So yummy! Do yourself a favor and make it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
added it to our Christmas breakfast and it was a big hit for everyone.second helpings all around. I used a French Brioche,cut about 3/4 inch thick, added 2 eggs, 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 tsp vanilla, then sprinkled top with cinnamon about halfway through baking. A real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yum! This will be my new Christmas breakfast casserole from now on! Instead of two layers of bread I used a single layer (6 slices) of Texas Toast. Wasn't sure whether to bake uncovered, but i had used foil to cover it in the fridge so I baked it for 30 minutes with the foil on. While my husband and I ate the first round I put this back in the over with no covering. It was good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Absolutely delicious ! Only thing I would recommend is making more of the brown sugar mix and pouring some on top too! This is a christmas staple now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Don't plan to make again. Bread was very soggy which I don't like. Didn't seem to me to have much flavor. I added some applesauce in bottom of pan as I seen in other reviews,and also added a touch of vanilla to milk mixture but didn't like how it turned out. I usually pan fry my french toast in a batter of my own creation, think I'll stick with that. Disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Zinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Fairchild
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used unsalted butter (so I sprinkled kosher salt on top), organic sugar, white bread, coconut milk, and added some caramel drizzle and apple chunks on top and mine turned out really great. I want to add pecans to the butter-sugar mix next time. Yes, there will definitely be a next time! My boyfriend said, "Add this one to the repeat list!" Between the two of us we gobbled up half the pan, and then I was kind of worried leftovers wouldn't be so great. But I just covered the pan and stuck it in the fridge and the microwave-reheated leftovers this morning were just fine, really just about as good! I'm loving it. It might be good to mention that mine took about an hour to cook! I did put it directly from fridge into a 350-degree oven, still covered, so maybe it took several minutes to warm itself up and finally start the cooking process. After half an hour I took the foil cover off. As soon as the butter-sugar mixture started bubbling up the sides, I took it out and let it cool a bit and it was pretty perfect. The sugary crust on the bottom and the bread soaking in that butter to become dense and creamy--whew! Yum. I usually don't care a whole lot for regular French toast because of how soggy it can get, but this was truly enjoyable (but maybe it helped that I cooked it so long too) so much that I think I'll be craving it regularly. Hooray for successful experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Fairchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very good made with nut bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Would definitely half the amt of brown sugar Used 6 regular pieces of bread and 6 heels (heels for top layer) In the morning when i got it out of the fridge, the top layer of bread was completely dry as was the top side of the bottom layer of bread. I added 2 eggs and 1/4 up a milk and rubber it over the bottom layer of bread and the front and back of the top layer of bread. Tasted great Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States