Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Firstly, my kids loved this. My hubby and I though found it to sweet for a breakfast meal. It's a hybrid between French toast and a cinnamon role, leaning more towards the cinnamon role. I used a French loaf for the bread which was delicious. I will make this again with just a minor tweak. Going to half the butter and sugar. I may also try adding a fruit preserve next time (in which case you'd need very little butter and sugar at the bottom). I'm also throwing around the idea in layering cooked bacon in the middle. If I try it I'll update the review and let you know how it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I recently served this french toast recipe to my family and overnight quests with assorted fresh fruits on the side. They all said liked it. I the addition of one teaspoon of vanilla would help add to the taste, but that is my personal preference. It is a good recipe we enjoyed it. Nothing easier when you have guests and you can have breakfast made to pop in the oven in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This is sooooo yummy! Not sure what the one reviewer was talking about when they said it was a disappointment. It tasted exactly like the French toast I would make when I pan fry mine. I did add 1 tsp of vanilla to the eggs mixture and there was so much brown sugar and cinnamon I sprinkled some on the butter some on top of the first layer of bread and some on top of the second layer of bread. I would definitely make this again since it is easier than standing in front of a hot stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have this made and in the fridge for the morning. I add sliced bananas and homemade streusel and it's so good! One of our all time favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Wieder Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
One of my great friends made this wonderful meal today. But she used french bread and covered with pecans. Will try to recreate and I will add pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Dad made it. Results as follows: Dad: it's ok way to sweet Mom: too eggy but love the taste. Daughter (15yrs): I don't like it, too soggy. Son (12yrs): I think there is too much cinnamon and brown sugar. Final tally: Not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Yes. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
The bread was dry and the brown sugar and butter did not turn to syrup. Had good flavor but the brown sugar was crystalized and the top piece of bread was bone dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This was delicious! Followed recipe but I did dip the beard in the egg mixture and poured the last tiny bit over the top. All of the brown sugar and butter soaked into the bottom piece which was delish. The two pieces of bread fused together. I tried it without syrup, which was good but ended up using a little syrup , made it more like French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States