Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
My family loved this and is already begging for a repeat. I spread a very thin layer of cinnamon applesauce between the bread layers and then sprinkled a little extra cinnamon on top. When you serve it, flip it over and you have a nice brown sugar/cinnamon topping! It's EASY and really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I add thinly sliced apples to the brown sugar butter mix for an extra treat its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was a big disappointment.. I wish I could say something good about it, but I cannot. Also, it doesn't taste like French Toast at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Oh my goodness! This is like eating dessert for breakfast! My family LOVED it! Actually, I made it for dinner, with some bacon and scrambled eggs. :) It tasted a lot like eating a cinnamon roll. VERY SWEET and yummy. I used 7 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk (since some others had said it was a little dry) and it was just right. I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the milk/egg mixture and sprinkled the top with cinnamon before pouring it over. I refrigerated it for a couple hours before baking and that worked fine! It was really too sweet to add butter and syrup, but I would like to try it with a fruit topping and some whipped cream. Next time I might try spreading the 2nd layer of bread with sweetened cream cheese and blueberry pie filling or chopped apples (between the bread layers) for a 'stuffed' french toast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Oh, my goodness. This is one of the most delicious baked french toast recipes I've ever had. I first made it for Christmas last year, and used ordinary, cheap sandwich bread with the crusts on and it was OK. But now I buy the good quality farmhouse bread and cut the crusts off. I add more brown sugar to the bottom of the dish, too so when I cut it and flip it over on the plate, it's buttery and sweet. Served with grits and breakfast meat this is one of our favorite meals. Oh, and I don't refrigerate over night either and it's still great. I will for this year's Christmas morning meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was my first try at a baked French toast, and it was YUMMY! As with most recipes, I scaled it down for my small family. I halved the recipe, added an extra egg and a little extra splash of milk, used whole grain bread (crusts on, cut into large cubes), and tossed the bread in the egg-milk mixture, rather than pouring it over. It filled an 8X8 pan perfectly. I baked it at the same temperature for the same amount of time. but because the bread was brown to start with, I judged the "doneness" by smell and touch, taking it out when it sprang back when I poked it. I especially like how it doesn't taste really "eggy", as my French toast often does. We wound up eating smaller servings than if I had prepared "regular" French toast, the equivalent of only one slice of bread per serving. With a few brown and serve sausages on the side, perfect! We'll have the last of it for brunch after church this morning. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I too sliced an apple and placed it on the bottom of the pan. I had some leftover canned fruit and drained that and placed between the layers of bread. I even replaced 1/2 of the brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar. After baking and cooling it, I cut the pan into 8 servings and individually froze them and we just pull one out of the the freezer at a time and microwave it for breakfast. I look forward to trying it with other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I like this because it has less fattening ingredients than other recipes I saw, but still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was looking for a quick and easy french toast recipe to make this morning and came across this one. Thanks to a previous reviewer's comment, I did not let it sit overnight and just baked it as soon as I finished preparing it! I used french bread instead of regular bread and served it with a little warmed maple syrup! It turned out GREAT and we all enjoyed it very much! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
The family loves this!!! I made this 3 Saturday nights in a row for Sunday breakfast. I didn't read the instructions correctly the first time and I dipped each piece of bread in the milk/egg mixture (and forgot the salt) and it turned out excellent so that is how I continue to make it. We now put applesauce and cinnamon in between each layer and some brown sugar and butter on the top as well as the bottom of the pan. No one even uses syrup......we do sprinkle with powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States