Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We could eat this everyday, AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Made this for the first time for my 30yr old daughters bday! We all loved it. Added the cinnamon applesauce between layers of bread, didn't have to use any butter or syrup, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I made this for a co-workers birthday and shared with several people. They all liked it. I followed the advice from others and added extra milk and eggs. I also sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on the top. Next time i want to add cream cheese between the layers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made this twice in the same week. The first time I took it to brunch at my cousins' house. All of the adults ate it just as it was. No syrup required. I agree with flipping the toast over on your plate. It makes for a much more beautiful display/presentation. I had to add an extra egg and a bit of milk before cooking as the corners of the bread were dry. I also had to cook it an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
As my 4 yr old granddaughter Graci would say "Yummy-this is delish".The first time I made this was for a Sunday brunch-which my family was late for & had it cold late that afternoon. They ate it like finger food & absolutely loved it. The only thing I did differently was add 1/4 cup sugar & 1 TSP vanilla to the egg mixture. My baking time was a little longer but maybe that was from not all ovens being alike. We took vacation a few days back & my family asked me to make it for breakfast - put it together the night before - put it in the oven next morning & wound up making it twice during our stay at the beach. Yes, they really liked it. This is going to be on my menu for holiday breakfast for years to come. Thanks GINNY066 for a wonderful recipe. DianneP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I like this because it has less fattening ingredients than other recipes I saw, but still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I really loved this. I added a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon to the egg mixture and I put some fresh blueberries in between the two layers of bread. I think next time, I might add one more egg to give a bit more moisture. It was a hit! I would classify it more of a cinnamon toast bake. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
The family loves this!!! I made this 3 Saturday nights in a row for Sunday breakfast. I didn't read the instructions correctly the first time and I dipped each piece of bread in the milk/egg mixture (and forgot the salt) and it turned out excellent so that is how I continue to make it. We now put applesauce and cinnamon in between each layer and some brown sugar and butter on the top as well as the bottom of the pan. No one even uses syrup......we do sprinkle with powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Oh, my goodness. This is one of the most delicious baked french toast recipes I've ever had. I first made it for Christmas last year, and used ordinary, cheap sandwich bread with the crusts on and it was OK. But now I buy the good quality farmhouse bread and cut the crusts off. I add more brown sugar to the bottom of the dish, too so when I cut it and flip it over on the plate, it's buttery and sweet. Served with grits and breakfast meat this is one of our favorite meals. Oh, and I don't refrigerate over night either and it's still great. I will for this year's Christmas morning meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisGirl09
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I prepped it last night and made it this afternoon for my family, it was a huge success! I did it slightly different to make sure the cinnamon and brown sugar was on both sides of all the toast but it was definitely delicious! I absolutely love this sight for homemade recipes! Thanks from my family that will enjoy this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States