Best Oven Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just finished this! Made a half batch and it was good enough to try again. I added a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice over the cinnamon.....otherwise made as directed. The next time, as per others, I will add a bit more milk and an extra egg, as the egg/milk mixture was somewhat scant. Flavor was very good though. Applesauce sounds like a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was delicious! My husband and kids all loved it! I was only able to let it soak for a couple hours, but that didn't seem to be a problem. The only issue was that the bread didn't quite fit in the pan, so some pieces did not get soaked and ended up crusty. I liked the crusty parts, but my kids did not. I did use a 13x9 like the recipe said, so I'm not sure how they fit 12 pieces like the picture shows. Though not the most nutritious, this was a easy meal to put together with ingredients I had on hand. A winner for this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinoyingarland
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I was not able to prepare the night before, but I still think they came out good. I added some vanilla extract and nutmeg and more cinnamon to the recipe. I used regular wheat bread but definitely think french bread or texas toast may be more moist which is my preference. In addition to the melted butter, I coated flat roaster pans with non stick spray. Drizzled the sugar, salt and cinnamon on the pan then placed coated bread on top, then drizzled the sugar and cinnamon again. I then poured the egg mixture again over the bread. Halfway through baking I turned them over. I used a metal spatula turned at a sharp angle to turn them so the bread sticking was not an option. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Love this, it so easy!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Cleaning out the frig I found old bread, and wheat hamburger buns. Decided to use these in the casserole. I made sure that all the bread got coated with the egg mixture and baked it. We loved it . If good with old bread, it must be awesome with fresh French or Italian bread. Will make it it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this today while my husband was at work as a 'trial' and if it went well, I planned to re-make for breakfast on Sunday. It was great! I only used 6 slices of bread instead of 12, and I used a cup of milk and it was just enough for my bread. If I used any less than a cup it would have been much too dry for my taste, so be aware of that when you make it. I didn't have any brown sugar so I just sprinkled white sugar over the butter. I was a tad shy with the cinnamon, but next time I will be extra generous with it. I didn't make this ahead of time and just baked it as soon as I was done prepping it and it turned out just fine. I imagine if it was left to refrigerate overnight the flavours would have been stronger, but this turned out great. Next time I plan to add some peaches and apples to the butter, sugar & cinnamon and in between bread layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
My kids loved this. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the egg mix and used a French baguette cut into 3/4" slices for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahBux
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
was perfect with 2 extra eggs, about 2 tbsp extra milk, 2 tsp vanilla extract, and a bit of a heavy hand on the cinnamon and sugar. (about a cup of sugar instead of 3/4ths and maybe 4 tbs cinnamon?) Also, fee free to shred extra bread to fill gaps in the dish! I made the cinnamon sugar mix thin and put it between BOTH layers. Served upside down. Custardy and crispy. Submitted 3 pics
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Quick and easy, my family loved it! Nice for a weekend breakfast. Cut recipe in half, added some vanilla to the egg mixture, and baked in a 9x9 dish to serve 3 people. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was really good. I made it with Texas Toast instead of 2 layers of bread and added vanilla and one more egg. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States