Best One Pot Cheese and Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was a tough recipe to rate. Would I serve this to guests for dinner? Probably not. Would I totally make this for a quick lunch for myself again? YES (especially because all of the ingredients are things I usually have sitting around the house anyways)! I reduced the recipe down to 1 serving for my lunch today & it went pretty well. I upped the noodles to 3/4 cup because I didn't use elbow noodles & so had to add more water. Once the noodles were done I just poured out the majority of the excess water. I added in a tbs of butter & melted it, then added in the milk as the recipe indicates. Once the cheeses were melted & the pepper added (skipped on the mustard) I tasted the macaroni & it seemed a little bland, so I added in a few dashes of hot sauce as well as sprinkled in just a bit of onion powder. This took the recipe from "okay" to "mmm...good". As far as easy & tasty lunches go, this one is a recipe I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Delicious, quick and easy! But very rich and cheesy too. I think next time I will either use less cheese or boil more pasta. I usually don't have Parmesan around so I was pleasantly surprised by the taste of the Cheddar and Parmesan combination. I loved it and I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
We love this recipe! It is so much easier and better than store bought mac n cheese. I use American for my three kids, and add some cheddar when they are not looking. Me and the hubby are experimenting with all the cheeses we love! Also good for a gluten free treat! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Wonderful and so easy. Add scrambled eggs on top of each serving for more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I read on a blog to boil the pasta in the milk until the milk was almost absorbed then add in the mustard and cheese. That was how I did it and it was delicious. So easy, took a while to boil because I didn't have it all the way up so it wouldn't scorch the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great recipe for a quick easy creamy stove top mac and cheese. I switched things up a bit, but adding asiago, feta and cream cheese to the cheddar and parmesan. I found that if I stirred the cheese in as it melted and didn't add it all at once, it kept it from clumping as others have complained about. I also sauteed some onion and then added that as well. Turned out super creamy and flavorful. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Really good and FAST, and an excellent concept for making quick homemade macaroni and cheese. I skipped the Parmesan cheese and added about 3 cups of cheddar cheese, substituted white pepper for black pepper, and used a combo of skim milk and heavy cream (what I had on hand). All family members ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
An odd method of making mac n cheese. I used elbow macaroni, and it was cooked perfectly. The final 5 minute cooking time is almost too long as the bottom started to stick. Took off the heat and added the cheeses, pepper and mustard. Very very cheddar cheesey. Not creamy but definitely thick and cheesey. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Interesting. I love the gooeyness of the cheese but, has very little flavor. I added in garlic salt which helped but still wasnt extremely flavorful. The recipe also tends to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States