Best of the Best Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very yummy & easy to make! I made a few changes due to practical reasons. I skipped salt because I was using semi-salted butter. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used one small peach yogurt, which was a little less than 1/2 cup, so I added milk to make it 1/2 cup. I didn't dust blueberries with flour because they were really well strained and almost dry, and they stayed well suspended. I had some leftover cream cheese, so instead of sprinkling with sugar, I mixed the cream cheese with white sugar & milk into yogurt consistency and put a spoonful on each. The batter was really thick, so I was worried it might not turn out well, but they came out with perfectly round tops and didn't even crack much. The cream cheese topping made for a very moist and slightly sweeter top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I have a few criticisms of this "just okay" muffin. First, let's call it what it is - coffeecake in a muffin cup, but I'm okay with that. It wasn't flat, but it doesnt rise as nicely as it should. There are too many blueberries, believe it or not - not enough cake. Half the amount of berries would not only have been far tastier, but would have made a sturdier muffin as well. Finally, I felt it needed the oomph of a little vanilla. Certainly NOT the best muffin I've ever made. Oh... and this 12-muffin recipe turned out to be 17 standard-sized muffins. The second muffin tin and I were not prepared for this discrepancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did lessen the sugar and added 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. The kids raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
So easy, so yummy. I have made these many, many times (exactly as written). They're my household's favourite muffins. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Makes 24 muffins regular sized, not 12. Also, way too buttery for me and a bit too sweet. I would cut at least 2 T of the butter out and the sugar to 1 C at most. Also, I would cook until tops are golden brown since they never sprang like the instructions say. Like the amount of blueberries. The muffins are good enough to eat, but not my opinion of”the best”.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We made them yesterday, best homemade we've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I replaced the buttermilk with cream and a tablespoon of lemon juice just because that's what I had on hand. It may have been because of this alteration but they also only took 20 minutes to bake to the brown side of golden. There was also leftover batter so the whole batch was enough for 16 smallish muffins. Next time I think it would be fine to fill the cups to the top to make 12 because I did not have any of them sink. Man, oh man, they are delicious! I think these are the best blueberry muffins I have ever had. The outsides were a little crispy and brown and sweet and the inside was fluffy and light. I say that in the past tense because they are all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
These are the best muffins I've ever made. My family really enjoyed them. I added vanilla and next time I think I will add 1 tsp. lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My family and I loved this recipe! It is a keep for sure. The buttermilk really adds a lot to this muffin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States