Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Just finished baking and eating this cake. First Choc cake I've baked and it was quite easy to make! The only difference I did was to scale it down for share of 3 (I was trying to satisfy my Choc cake craving so needed something small) and added in some semi-sweet Choc chips. The result was moist and even had nuggets of chocolate goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreakoh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great recipe. I made some changes though. I added 1/4 c Milk to the recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and I also melted 4 tbsp of the butter and added about 3-4 extra TBSP of cocoa powder to the melted butter before adding it to the remaining butter before creaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very nice! The cake is a little crumbly (in the good way) and a lighter chocolate flavor that goves it a devils food feel. I will be making this again :) I subed in 1/2 t of the baking soda for powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekqt
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved this cake!! I used it to make cake squares and it was so moist and chocolatey! I did use only 1 cup of milk and the rest coffee. I am definitely going to make this again! I used a chocolate cream cheese icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I tried this last night for my husband's birthday, went with the positive feedback. Will not use this one again, no chocolate flavor and everyone agreed 100%. Cake is moist and holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
As advertised, the cake was very moist and the perfect texture. I cut the recipe in half due to a lack of flour on hand and it still made a ton of batter, enough to fill a 9"x13" pan. Not much chocolate flavor, which could be due to my cocoa powder being a little old. I added four dark chocolate ghirardelli squares, melted, to the batter. Despite having little flavor, I have had four slices already in the past two days so I guess it turned out. I reccommend looking up the recipe for "Texas Chocolate Frosting" and adding a little cinnamon to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had no margarine so I used butter. It was a wonderful and easy to make recipe that made 24 perfect, deep, dark, chocolate cupcakes. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I followed the advice of using baking powder instead of the baking soda, 8 tbsp of cocoa powder and used 1/4 more milk. I also used 1/2c butter AND 1/2 c oil since thats what I had on hand. First off the texture of this batter is so silky, its just divine. I baked half into cupcakes and the other half into a silicone cake pan. The final product of the cupcakes and the cake is GREAT! Moist, just the right amount of sweetness and texture was just right. I noticed some people said that it was bland but I wonder if they realize that the cake isnt supposed to be sugar loaded- thats the job of the icing. Anyway, I really enjoyed the basis of this recipe and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have never made a cake from scratch before. I came across this recipe because it didn't need a lot of extra fancy things in it, so I had what I needed and gave it a try. I made this cake for my girls 6th birthday and everyone liked it. I will use it everytime and I will even use it for chocolate cupcakes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Tastes great with Hershey's chocolate powder. I made a 2 layer cake and it turned out great with this recipe, just split the batter into 2 round pans. Work s great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakersdaughter
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States