Best Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cake was so-so. It has a very nice texture but something is missing. The only changes I made was adding an extra tbs of cocoa powder and adding 1/4 cup brown sugar. I think next time I'll add chocolate chips or semi-sweet baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Since I'm in Salt Lake City (about 5,000ft), I made some modifications for high altitude and the cake was awesome! No frosting needed! Used butter instead of margarine; -3tbsp of sugar; + 4tbsp milk; +5 tbsp milk; -1/4tsp baking soda; used 4 and a half tbsp cocoa powder, since that's all I had left, and included 4 tbsp of chocolate chips. Baked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes and Presto! Cake looked and tasted really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AFIZA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
this is a WICKED recipe! and to die for! i just added more milk like one reviewer did. i add a bit more cocoa recipe for more chocolaty taste - personal preference :) covered it with generous amount of homemade choc frosting and served it still warm to family... this recipe is for keeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFIZA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe was disappointing. I followed directions as given and it was not very chocolate tasting. Sorry but it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I love this cake....made it for my husband's birthday and he too loved it!.....only thing is it wasn't AS moist as I would've liked but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Every time I bake this cake I freak out at how watery the batter comes out, but this is the ONLY cake that I am now allowed to make...that is how much of a favorite it is!! I have made it tons of times and everyone loves it. I do use Ghirardelli Unsweeten Chocolate powder which I think adds to give it that great chocolate taste. It is extremely moist and therefore crumbles easily so I hate icing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!! I have made this cake twice in a matter of weeks! The only changes I made were to use baking powder not soda as suggested and I added a rough cup of mini chocolate chips both times. The 1st cake I baked in 2 round cake pans. I made a cream cheese icing for it. RAVE REVIEWS, prompted another cake. Last night I put my batter in a bundt cake pan. It needed to cook an addtl 10 mins or so. This cake I glazed with a vanilla glaze recipe I found on this site. OMG! This is our go to chocolate cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeern

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awful. Worst cake I have ever made in my entire baking history. Bland, heavy and very little flavor. It says it is supposed to be moist, but it was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Most definitely the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is very! moist and not too fluffy, I paired it with cream cheese frosting and it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States