Best Marinated Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have to admit this is some of the BEST marinated grilled chicken we've had from this site. I marinated this for 8 hours so I wanted to concentrate the marinade -leave out the water there's no purpose for it, add more of one of the liquids if it's too thick. I used boneless chicken that I pounded down to 1/2 inch. I used olive oil vs. sesame and dijon vs. honey mustard. I also used 2 tsp. of liquid smoke and because I didn't use water I used 2 Tbsp. of orange juice vs. orange zest. I also didn't have fines herbs so I used a combination of parsley, tarragon and marjoram. The brown sugar made everything carmelize on the grill and the result was a moist sweet, yet smoky herbed chicken breast. I didn't even use the rosemary that I had as I had forgotten all about it. Simply delicious and one to make for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Made this last weekend and plan to make it again for a family get together on July 4th. It was a hit with my family. Very good flavor that permiated through the chicken. Husband and both boys LOVED IT! Would be good to use in a chicken salad too. I rate it A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I marinaded a whole chicken in this mixture for over 24 hours in the fridge. I put the chicken and marinade in a gallon size plastic bag in a tupperware dish, and turned it over every 6 hours or so to keep it marinaded evenly. I used the rotisserie on our Weber grill, cooked it at 375F for 1.75 hours, and it turned out great! I put big chunks of garlic under the skin of the chicken, and also in the cavity before grilling, and this made it more flavorful. Our whole family loved it, and we will be using this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I followed the recipe with a couple of changes. I omitted the orange zest based on some of the other reviewers comments. Since I have a gas bbq and thus, no coals, I placed the chicken on the grill and then placed several springs of rosemary over the chicken as it cooked. This worked well. The chicken was very moist and flavorful and everybody loved it. I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the number and cost of all these ingredients. It wouldn't be a marinade I'd want to use all the time but will definitely make every now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Very delicious! I was a little apprehensive about all the water, but marinating overnight, the chicken breasts really soaked up all the liquid and flavors too. Only thing I did different was use peanut oil as that's all I had, with no bad effects. I skewered chunks of the chicken on the rosemary like kabobs. Will make this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Very tasty! I did not have time to marinate overnight. So, I left out the water to concentrate the flavors. I used skinless boneless breast that I cut into strips. I marinated them for about 4 hours before grilling. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was very good, but not sure if worth all the work. Rest of family loved it. Breast came out the best. Will make again with bone-in chicken breast and skip cutting up a whole chicken and trying to use the legs and thighs and other dark meat parts that did not come out as well as the white meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This unusual melange of ingredients somehow came together to produce a deliciously moist grilled chicken. I used 1.5 cups prepared Italian dressing instead of the listed water/dry dressing mix and minced parsley, chives and tarragon (no chervil) for the fines herbs. Marinated bone-in breasts overnight and grilled on a gas grill over a bed of rosemary. Despite the strong flavors in the marinade, not one particular flavor stood out -- thanks for the recipe DIXYCHIK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I made this for my in-laws and there was alot of uncomfortable silence at the meal. The orange zest is quite strong - my husband claims it gave him heartburn for two days. If I made it again, I would drastically reduce the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is so easy and the chicken came out so moist!!! Will definitely continue making over and over! I took the advise of others and I marinaded my chicken before I put it in the freezer and when I need it, it will be ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States