Best Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good sauce - I did however cut the amout of onion down to 1/4 cup though and sauteed that along with the garlic and celery in olive oil instead of veg. oil. I also used one can of crushed tomatoes instead of one and a half - I mean what's the need of opening up an extra can. This really makes enough sauce. I had fresh basil on hand so I subbed that for the dry. This is a very thick sauce so if you're like me and don't want it as thick add 1/2 cup of white wine or water. A number of reviewers commented on this sauce being "tangy", that comes from the acidity of the tomatoes. To combat that I always add about 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I let the sauce some to a boil for a few minutes, then let it simmer for a couple hours. It's great over angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I increased the oil a touch and use EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I didn't want to measure out the onion, I used one medium sweet onion. After tasting the sauce once it had time to simmer, I did add more basil and oregano because it didn't seem to be enough for me. This was a nice, basic marinara that was a bit on the thicker side. It went well over ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Makes me think I should never use sauce-in-a-jar again! Easy, quick, and, yes, hearty. Even the husband liked the meat-free menu with this sauce! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This was great. I had been looking for a nice marinara that wasn't in a jar. It was really thick so I did add 1/2 cup water and I also added a little sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Great basic marinara! I use it frequently. I do make additions to suit my tastes, a bit of sugar, a can of diced tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, more garlic. Possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was fantastic. I used a combination of crushed & diced tomatoes. I had to add a little water to thin it out, but otherwise this was PERFECT. Thanks for making me look like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I like this recipe I just substituted celery salt and used whole canned tomatoes and used a hand blender to make it the consistency I liked. Seasonings to me and family were right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Pretty good, but not the best I've ever had. Tangier than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was amazing! My entire family loved it. The only things I changed was to add a tablespoon of sugar, added a small zuccini (I don't like meat sauces), and didn't drain the tomatoes. Even the meat lovers in the house enjoyed (and got full from) this sauce, which I served with rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good and quick! I cut the recipe to 4 servings as I only needed a dipping sauce for munchies. This went over very well. It couldn't be quicker to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States