Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is my new go-to marinara sauce! So much tastier than the jarred stuff, and I know what is in it. Used it last week in my zucchini lasagna and will be using it tomorrow for eggplant florentini. I did substitute chicken broth for the wine and added a few extra cloves of garlic (we love garlic). I'm gonna make a triple batch tomorrow and freeze some for those busy nights. Thanks for such a simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So good and easy.... Not buying the jars again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've probably tried 100 or more variations of marinara. I now have a new favorite! Only helpful comment I can make is to simmer for closer to an hour in order to thicken and bring out all of the wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious. And I messed a lot of things up and got away with it: I forgot to buy an onion and used/burnt a shallot instead; I added onion powder because of the onion incident; and, I also used unmeasured fresh basil, oregano, and parsley. I think the key is the white wine --- it makes it delicious. I used cheap pino Grigio and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Really liked it. Blended the seasonings and tomato products in the Vitamix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The only time I ever made marinara sauce I used this recipe. It won the marinara contest at the local Italian fest. I'm not even Italian. What does THAT tell you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was the BEST and easiest sauce I have ever made. I added some pesto and used flat gingerale instead of white wine and was super impressed. Thank you for this awesome recipe! I will use it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I swapped the parsley for fresh thyme and added about 5 sun dried tomatoes and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
EXCELLENT! I am always skeptical of recipes that have so few ingredients. But this sauce was phenomenal in taste! It is so easy to prepare that I will NEVER use store bought again! I followed the recipe exactly except adding 1 tsp. of brown sugar. I always believed that the sugar takes some of the tartness out of the tomatoes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I will NEVER go back to bottled marinara sauce! I used a combination of canned and fresh from my garden tomatoes (frozen from this summers batch) I didn't have the wine so omitted it and it turned out perfect without it! It simmered for about 30 minutes and the consistency was perfect! I am putting it in my daughter's recipe album - a collection of favorite recipes for her to use when she moves into her own place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States