Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So good and quick and simple! Who needs store-bought? I added extra garlic, itslian seadonings, brown sugar and pinch of baking soda. A touch sweet. next time skip the sugar but do add the baking soda. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
First time I made home-made sauce and will never go back to the jar! Stuck with the recipe EXACTLY. Was very easy and very tasty. Whole family loved it. Shoot, I did get nervous and added 1 tbl of brown sugar since 90% of reviewers did. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I quadrupled the recipe but did not use any sugar. Was perfect for use in my turkey lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meyertime

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beasley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I will never buy a jar of marinara sauce again! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great sauce. Husband loved it and he hates every jarred sauce I've tried. Will only be able to use this sauce now for any pasta dishes. I did use diced tomatoes and added extra garlic. I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar as recommended by other reviewers and omitted the white wine. Fresh parsley makes a big difference. Used my bullet to blend everything after it cooked. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Just the right amount of thickness, texture, beyond flavorful, and my kids love it too! A definite winner in my house :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great sauce base!! I read some of the other reviews and added more garlic (3 cloves total but 4 would be even better) sautéing it with the onion. I deglazed the onion garlic mixture with 1/2 cup sweet vermouth instead of white wine - this is a trick my mother in law taught me to remove some of the acidity of the tomatoes. I cooked the vermouth down a bit to remove some of alcohol and added dried oregano and basil to the sauce simmering it covered for 2 hours. We used Nikki Dinki's YouTube fresh pasta recipe and it turned out great! I added some heavy cream to a smaller pan of the sauce and cooked it a bit longer and my husband had the straight up sauce on his. We'lol definitely make this again,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This sauce is super easy and versatile. The texture is perfect, too. I added an extra clove of garlic, brown sugar and red pepper flakes. Next time I'd probably cut the oregano in half because I'm not a big fan of oregano. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is the closest red sauce I have found that matches an amazing red sauce I had in Florence Italy a few months ago. I think the next time I make it I will use fresh tomatoes. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is so fresh tasting. Didn't have fresh parsley so used 1T dried parsley and left out the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Monson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States