Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is my go to recipe for marinara. I love it on my homemade pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakota Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So good and quick and simple! Who needs store-bought? I added extra garlic, itslian seadonings, brown sugar and pinch of baking soda. A touch sweet. next time skip the sugar but do add the baking soda. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
First time I made home-made sauce and will never go back to the jar! Stuck with the recipe EXACTLY. Was very easy and very tasty. Whole family loved it. Shoot, I did get nervous and added 1 tbl of brown sugar since 90% of reviewers did. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I quadrupled the recipe but did not use any sugar. Was perfect for use in my turkey lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meyertime

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beasley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I will never buy a jar of marinara sauce again! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great sauce. Husband loved it and he hates every jarred sauce I've tried. Will only be able to use this sauce now for any pasta dishes. I did use diced tomatoes and added extra garlic. I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar as recommended by other reviewers and omitted the white wine. Fresh parsley makes a big difference. Used my bullet to blend everything after it cooked. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Just the right amount of thickness, texture, beyond flavorful, and my kids love it too! A definite winner in my house :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great sauce base!! I read some of the other reviews and added more garlic (3 cloves total but 4 would be even better) sautéing it with the onion. I deglazed the onion garlic mixture with 1/2 cup sweet vermouth instead of white wine - this is a trick my mother in law taught me to remove some of the acidity of the tomatoes. I cooked the vermouth down a bit to remove some of alcohol and added dried oregano and basil to the sauce simmering it covered for 2 hours. We used Nikki Dinki's YouTube fresh pasta recipe and it turned out great! I added some heavy cream to a smaller pan of the sauce and cooked it a bit longer and my husband had the straight up sauce on his. We'lol definitely make this again,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This sauce is super easy and versatile. The texture is perfect, too. I added an extra clove of garlic, brown sugar and red pepper flakes. Next time I'd probably cut the oregano in half because I'm not a big fan of oregano. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is the closest red sauce I have found that matches an amazing red sauce I had in Florence Italy a few months ago. I think the next time I make it I will use fresh tomatoes. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States