Best Marinara Sauce Yet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This sauce is deliciously easy to make, as well as wonderfully flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This really is lovely! Nice consistency but I did make a few changes. I used vegetable stock rather than white wine; I used shallots rather than onions; I used fresh oregano rather than dried and I didn't put any of it in a processor. I placed the tinned tomatoes, tomato paste, chopped parsley, minced garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper into the skillet, heated it up and then added the veg stock. I also added a chopped up vine tomato. I simmered it for 30 mins and so it kept a bit of chunkiness which we like. It was a lovely sauce great for minced beef, seafood or by itself. I would highly recommend giving it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Super! Making with fresh herbs and tomatoes out of the garden I have peeled, chopped, and boiled down. Plan on canning this over and over with a few changes. I added 1 T worshishire sauce and omitted wine (I live in a dry county) and onion. Smells and tastes yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicioso! I made this for an eggplant parm recipe and it turned out PERFECT. I made the recipe as directed, except I added some fresh basil instead of the parsley. The consistency is excellent, not too thin or thick. This made enough for probably three batches of eggplant so I now have leftover for spaghetti! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I added 3 times the amount of garlic suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe Fazio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graycebee
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I really love this. I made the mistake of simmering it with the lid on, which made it sort of watery. That was my fault so I give it 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graycebee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
No. I should have turned away when I saw stewed tomatoes and tomato paste, white wine, black pepper, onion and only 1 glove of garlic. This recipe was just a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I was looking for a quick pasta sauce to make for my bf's birthday - something simple but tasty and this was fantastic! I had never made my own sauce and I was so pleased. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I didn't have white wine on hand, so I tried champagne/sparkling white wine and it came out perfectly. The second time around I decided to use regular white wine (as the recipe suggests) and it came out tasting sour. I recommend using champagne and you won't need to use any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great recipe and super easy. In addition, I added: 3 anchovies (canned in oil, about 1 tablespoon mashed) 1 red pepper (needed to use it, and it added some sweetness) 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of wine Used 1 whole onion because I love onions Used a bit more garlic, probably 2-3 cloves, because garlic is delicious Also used dried parsley instead of fresh as it is all I had Added about 10 small fresh basil leaves at the end just before serving. Note: If you can use good quality San Marzano tomatoes for this, I highly suggest it! AMAZING. Simmered on low for about 50 minutes because it's so thick that it splatters a lot. Make sure you have a lid and are wearing long sleeves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States