Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This macaroni salad was delicious! I've sampled quite a few recipes from this website, but this was the first one I truly loved. My whole family loved it, including my mother who HATES mayonnaise. It was very light and flavorful, and didn't have the nasty aftertaste macaroni salad usually does. I did make a few changes though. I found that using only 1 tbsp of (extra virgin) olive oil and vinegar was sufficient. I also added a tsp of black pepper and half of 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a little kick, and whisked all the dressing ingredients together before adding it to the macaroni mixture. I omitted the dried minced onion and cucumbers, and added some scallions along with celery and shredded carrots. 16 oz. of pasta turned out to be too much, so I only used 8. I will DEFINITELY continue to make this. Even if you're not a fan of the traditional macaroni salads, which are usually heavy, you will LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was alright. I whisked together all dressing ingredients. I used real onion instad of minced.only cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe was an instant hit at our cookout. Everyone was surprised tasting the ham & the cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This is the best ever. I personally don't like macaroni salad and never have but my boys like it. This recipe sounded pretty good. I tried it and tasted it to make sure there was enough salt and pepper. After that I didn't want to share it with anyone. It is so good and a meal in itself. If you view this recipe and don't try it, your out of your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Although this does lack a lot of taste, I love it for what it is: a light and fresh summer salad. I love how the mayo doesn't overtake it, like many macaroni salads do, and I'll just experiment a little with it next time for more flavoring. But all in all, a great light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This disappeared quickly at the party I brought it to, and my family liked it so much I made another batch at home. I did tweak it a bit - I eliminated the olive oil, substituted 1 tsp. fresh chopped onion for the dried, added diced red bell pepper, blanched broccoli, and spiced it up a bit with Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
DELICIOUS!! My son requested this for his birthday meal. He's 21 and very fussy. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This semmed to be missing flavor. Was very bland. I did not like the cucumber in it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I used the base of this recipe and made it into more of an Italian macaroni salad. My husband loved it. I used about 1/3 of mayo, 1/3 cup pepperoni cut into 4ths, shredded mozzarella and cheddar. The cucumber, 1/2 chopped red onion. 1 tbsp olive oil and 2-3 tbsp white wine vinegar. (I love the taste the vinegar gives to it.) Try it and see what you think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Lots of crunchiness. My daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States