Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This macaroni salad was delicious! I've sampled quite a few recipes from this website, but this was the first one I truly loved. My whole family loved it, including my mother who HATES mayonnaise. It was very light and flavorful, and didn't have the nasty aftertaste macaroni salad usually does. I did make a few changes though. I found that using only 1 tbsp of (extra virgin) olive oil and vinegar was sufficient. I also added a tsp of black pepper and half of 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a little kick, and whisked all the dressing ingredients together before adding it to the macaroni mixture. I omitted the dried minced onion and cucumbers, and added some scallions along with celery and shredded carrots. 16 oz. of pasta turned out to be too much, so I only used 8. I will DEFINITELY continue to make this. Even if you're not a fan of the traditional macaroni salads, which are usually heavy, you will LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was alright. I whisked together all dressing ingredients. I used real onion instad of minced.only cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe was an instant hit at our cookout. Everyone was surprised tasting the ham & the cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This is the best ever. I personally don't like macaroni salad and never have but my boys like it. This recipe sounded pretty good. I tried it and tasted it to make sure there was enough salt and pepper. After that I didn't want to share it with anyone. It is so good and a meal in itself. If you view this recipe and don't try it, your out of your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Although this does lack a lot of taste, I love it for what it is: a light and fresh summer salad. I love how the mayo doesn't overtake it, like many macaroni salads do, and I'll just experiment a little with it next time for more flavoring. But all in all, a great light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This disappeared quickly at the party I brought it to, and my family liked it so much I made another batch at home. I did tweak it a bit - I eliminated the olive oil, substituted 1 tsp. fresh chopped onion for the dried, added diced red bell pepper, blanched broccoli, and spiced it up a bit with Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
DELICIOUS!! My son requested this for his birthday meal. He's 21 and very fussy. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This semmed to be missing flavor. Was very bland. I did not like the cucumber in it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I used the base of this recipe and made it into more of an Italian macaroni salad. My husband loved it. I used about 1/3 of mayo, 1/3 cup pepperoni cut into 4ths, shredded mozzarella and cheddar. The cucumber, 1/2 chopped red onion. 1 tbsp olive oil and 2-3 tbsp white wine vinegar. (I love the taste the vinegar gives to it.) Try it and see what you think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Lots of crunchiness. My daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States