Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This disappeared quickly at the party I brought it to, and my family liked it so much I made another batch at home. I did tweak it a bit - I eliminated the olive oil, substituted 1 tsp. fresh chopped onion for the dried, added diced red bell pepper, blanched broccoli, and spiced it up a bit with Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This macaroni salad was delicious! I've sampled quite a few recipes from this website, but this was the first one I truly loved. My whole family loved it, including my mother who HATES mayonnaise. It was very light and flavorful, and didn't have the nasty aftertaste macaroni salad usually does. I did make a few changes though. I found that using only 1 tbsp of (extra virgin) olive oil and vinegar was sufficient. I also added a tsp of black pepper and half of 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a little kick, and whisked all the dressing ingredients together before adding it to the macaroni mixture. I omitted the dried minced onion and cucumbers, and added some scallions along with celery and shredded carrots. 16 oz. of pasta turned out to be too much, so I only used 8. I will DEFINITELY continue to make this. Even if you're not a fan of the traditional macaroni salads, which are usually heavy, you will LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Although this does lack a lot of taste, I love it for what it is: a light and fresh summer salad. I love how the mayo doesn't overtake it, like many macaroni salads do, and I'll just experiment a little with it next time for more flavoring. But all in all, a great light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The ingredients were fresh, simple, and summery, but I felt it was lacking on flavor. I added chopped up carrots which was a nice crunch with the softer textures of the rest of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
GOOD BUT MINUS THE CUCUMBERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I liked this recipe. The changes I made were to add 2 tbsp olive oil...it was plenty, and added a dollop more mayo. Also I cubed the cheese instead of shredding and added a stalk of celery. I think that next time I'll try a can of tuna instead of ham for a change. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This have become a family favorite. We like things spicy so I chopped a little green jalapeño pepper into it and a few drops of tabasco. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernestina Sanchez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
My husband who is not a big pasta salad lover thought this salad was great. I mixed vinegar and olive oil in with mayonnaise and it did not taste oily like one of the reviewers mentioned,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This semmed to be missing flavor. Was very bland. I did not like the cucumber in it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States