Best Mac 'N Cheese Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used 4 tbs butter and some flour and made a roux, then added the evap milk to make a white sauce. Then I melted the processed cheese in this, added the eggs and sour cream that I had wisked together, then added the cheese and cooked mac. I also added chopped ham bits, the rest of the seasoning and threw it in the oven. I think it turned out awesome!! It turns out the season salt is KEY to the great taste, it takes the edge off the sour cream flavor. I also just used random cheese that needed to be used in addition that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristenJ
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and both times my man and I really enjoyed it. Plus it's easy. The first time I added some real bacon pieces (I think I used a whole package). The bacon was a good addition. The second time, I cut the recipe in half (the whole was too much for just the two of us) and used a 6cup baking dish which worked well. Also, I used cut-up pepper jack cheese instead of the shredded cheddar/jack cheese blend which made the recipe even better! For anyone who likes a little kick, I definitely recommend using pepper jack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Easy to make. I doubled the recipe and it was a Huge hit it for my party. For easy clean up I used a disposable aluminum tray and was perfect to toss out EMPTY tray. I didn't use as much cheese and also added diced up grilled Spam into it. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can really tweak the ingredients and still come out with great results. I didn't have 16 oz. of sour cream, but I did have 8 oz. of greek yogurt. I hate only using 1 cup of evaporated milk, especially when it comes in a 12 oz. can, so I used the whole can. I used whatever cheese I had on hand, which wasn't enough but used Velveta processed cheese to get up to the 4-cup cheese requirement. I only used 1 tsp. of white pepper and 1 tsp. of garlic salt (instead of seasoning salt--whatever that is) for seasoning. I still drizzled the butter on top before baking, but next time around I think I'll add it to the milk/cheese mixture just to save a step. The texture was still firm and allowed perfect service slicing. But somehow the creaminess of the cheese still came through. The crusted macaroni around the edges really added a pleasant texture! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Step 3 does not mention about adding the evaporated milk so don't forget to add it. I made this for a Christmas Eve party and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was delicious. I made it w/o the evaporated milk b/c I forgot it b/c it wasn't listed in the directions, only in the list of ingredients, but it was still wonderful. I had nothing left at the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I thought it was a good recipe but VERY peppery. I would suggest doing 1 teaspoon of pepper (or less), not two. If your not a salt person either, cut the salt in half too. Otherwise, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Norby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I know it is never done but my mother always put diced onion in mac and cheese and I do too. Gives it such a sweet, cheesy taste. Everyone always comments about the onions and how good it is. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
the first time i made this dish i fallowed to the T, and it turned out a bit dry. But my second time around i added more cheese and a small amount of heavy cream and bacon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because it does need to be tweeked slightly. I only use 2 eggs and omit the velveeta cheese on top. It's so cheesey as it is! This is our fav mac n cheese in my house now and I add things to it sometimes. The best is 1/2 lb of turkey bacon, cubed and microwaved then added to the mix before baking. I also like to add broccoli florets too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States