Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this soup exactly as written, except we left the noodles out, and it turned out phenomenal! I made it a day in advance and let all the flavors blend overnight. Wow, my whole family said it was a winner. Honestly, we didn't intend on leaving out the pasta, but no one wanted to wait until they were done...ha. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Snearly
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a really great recipe to use as a base. I took a lot of variation inspiration from naples34103's comment as well. First I didn't cook it in a crockpot, but used a large 4-quart pot. I started the broth and spices heating on medium high heat to get it started. I used five fresh basil leaves rather than dried. Instead of red wine, I substituted with a cup of dark grape juice. As I completed prepping a vegetable off into the pot it went. I started with the (thinly sliced) zucchini. I added about twice as many tomatoes--which I had canned from my garden. As they had been blanched and were whole, as they cooked down I would fish them out with a large drain spoon and slice them into quarters on my chopping block and then dump them back into the pot. I also added Napa cabbage, fresh spinach, a couple green onions, and used Italian parsley. I removed the casings from the sausage and used one pound sweet Italian and a half pound mild, mixing it together in a bowl and rolled into small balls. After browning them on all sides in a skillet, I used my strainer spoon to fish them out and dump into my bowling pot. I also browned 3 chicken legs and dumped them whole into the pot. I used a combination of shell pasta and cheese tortellini, which was cooked separately and added to the pot after the soup had been cooking nearly an hour and a half+. Shredded mozzarella was lightly added to the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Snearly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made a number of modifications, not b/c I thought the recipe was lacking, but for my own tastes: 1. Subbed all beef broth for the wine, 2. Subbed carrots for the zucchini, 3. Used only one can of crushed tomatoes, 4. Subbed an Italian seasoning blend for the spices, 4. Used a red, orange and green pepper instead of just the green pepper, and 5. Used ditalini pasta. Lol, so, I guess the only thing I did per the recipe was the 1 1/2 sweet Italian sausage, garlic and the onion! But I did use it as a guide, which is what I do most often when using a recipe. Thank you for the inspiration for a new staple soup in my repertoire! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glammy Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made it this afternoon and my husband said it was the best soup ever!! This soup will be made several times this winter. my new favorite comfort food. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The original was awful. The red wine was so overpowering. I remade it without the wine and used chicken broth. It was soooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband loved it (and he's a picky eater) Only variation was I used red pepper instead of green since he doesn't like green pepper. The spinach fettuccine was a great addition. Its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is not a good soup - way too much wine! Could not do anything to save it & ended up throwing it down the disposel - don't waste your time or money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I'm confused on one aspect. The picture shows elbow and shell pasta, but the recipe calls for spinach fetuccini. I used only shell, but next time will use orzo instead. I also used more stock and wine, and half a small can of tomato paste; which produced a much richer broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This soup was beyond my expectations. I changed the amount to 4 servings for just myself snd husband and I have more than enough for another meal!!! It came out delicious and I will now keep this as my go to soup for company....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and it is wonderful! This time I dumped the entire box of pasta in directly which is a big mistake. This turns it into a pasta dish instead of a soup. If you follow the directions, it is amazing. I used gluten free pasta once and wheat pasta for the other. Both were equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States