Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
OMG GOOD! I didn't have zucchini, but I threw in celery and carrots. I also added an extra cup of beef broth and reduced the wine by 1/4 cup (since that was all that was left in the bottle) :). Also, I used Hot Italian turkey sausage to save on fat. I didn't add the noodles and they weren't missed. This soup is a meal unto itself. When my 16 and 17 y.o. sons asked me when I could make it again, that sealed the deal. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was time to clean out the freezer before we head north for the summer and I had enough Italian sausage to make this yummy soup. The recipe does make a lot but I froze half and will serve on a night when I'm sick of packing. Serve with a buttered roll, it is the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was perfect! A huge hit with the girlfriend and I thought it was excellent. The zucchini was a great addition to it. I had 3rds when I rarely finish a plate at supper. The only thing we did different was added 3/4 cup of red wine instead of 1 1/4. Definitely going to be made for lots of dinners in the future. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy! This soup has a great flavor and I think you can customize the vegetables to your liking very easy. I added 8 ounces of mushrooms and red bell pepper instead of green. I also only added 8 ounces of shell pasta, I didn't want too many carbs. I also added a bag of fresh spinach half way through the cooking. I don't like red wine in my food so just substituted more beef broth. I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Only okay. We didn't feel it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Don't usually love tomato based soups, but my non-soup loving hubby and I both loved this. I'll make it again. Less pasta, add frozen spinach.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Quick, easy, AND delicious on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My husband and I love this soup. I added chopped spinach and used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green bell pepper. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this soup exactly as written, except we left the noodles out, and it turned out phenomenal! I made it a day in advance and let all the flavors blend overnight. Wow, my whole family said it was a winner. Honestly, we didn't intend on leaving out the pasta, but no one wanted to wait until they were done...ha. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Snearly
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a really great recipe to use as a base. I took a lot of variation inspiration from naples34103's comment as well. First I didn't cook it in a crockpot, but used a large 4-quart pot. I started the broth and spices heating on medium high heat to get it started. I used five fresh basil leaves rather than dried. Instead of red wine, I substituted with a cup of dark grape juice. As I completed prepping a vegetable off into the pot it went. I started with the (thinly sliced) zucchini. I added about twice as many tomatoes--which I had canned from my garden. As they had been blanched and were whole, as they cooked down I would fish them out with a large drain spoon and slice them into quarters on my chopping block and then dump them back into the pot. I also added Napa cabbage, fresh spinach, a couple green onions, and used Italian parsley. I removed the casings from the sausage and used one pound sweet Italian and a half pound mild, mixing it together in a bowl and rolled into small balls. After browning them on all sides in a skillet, I used my strainer spoon to fish them out and dump into my bowling pot. I also browned 3 chicken legs and dumped them whole into the pot. I used a combination of shell pasta and cheese tortellini, which was cooked separately and added to the pot after the soup had been cooking nearly an hour and a half+. Shredded mozzarella was lightly added to the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Snearly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States