Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe.It was even better the next day as others have mentioned. My husband and I actually liked it better without pasta. We used spicy Italian sausage and the heat seemed to really increase the next day. I used less wine and only 1 zucchini and a bit more broth as well. Would make this again and cut the sausage into smaller bite-size pieces. Also took the sausage out of casing which was a good call by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious! I usually don't like much wine in my soups but since this was the first time trying recipe tried to follow recipe as close as possible. This reminds me of minestra or soup that I ate while living in the Italian Alps. Although there was much less meat in their soups. Meat is so expensive there. This soup is not Minestrone as one reviewer referred to but minestra with meat in it or a meat soup. I subbed a can of kidney beans for the pasta as I can't have carbs for right now and I used fresh basil, oregano and parsley from my garden and diced tomatoes instead of whole. Thanks, the broth of this soup is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It tastes too much like wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblakes
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I don't know what went wrong, but this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We LOVE soups! Happy that a cool front is coming so that I could make this. Still simmering, but tastes fabulous so far. I also chopped up some mushrooms in the soup, and added some crushed red pepper. Can't wait to dish it up! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was delicious! I could not stop eating it. The only things I did different were, took the sausage out of the casings, used 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning in place of the oregano because I did not have any, and cooked it on the stovetop because I did not have time to do the slow cooker. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Psuedoaccount
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Yum! Left out the wine and parsley, used spicy italian sausage rather than sweet. Cooked it on the stove top at low/medium for about four hours. Also used mini shell pasta rather than fettuccine. Really delicious... I had my doubts about soup with sausage. I am not a big sausage fan. Also added a bit more of the spices, and some sea salt right before serving. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great tasting soup, I used orzo for the pasta and added some fresh string beans and peas, for a different taste I added 2 cups of chopped kale. I chose not to use the tomatoes, but added a touch of tubed tomato, really did the job, tried to lessen the sodium content. At the end added some shaved Grande-Panada cheese in each bowl along with a few sprinkles of fresh parsley. Ciao1@embarqmail.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I feed a family of 7 every night and this went fast! I used hot Italian sausage, but didn't change anything else. Thick like a stew and very filling. I will definitely put this in my dinner rotation. It's a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States