Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I always look at reviews and suggestions prior to recreating a recipe on here. Based on the reviews, I made a couple of changes that were probably not necessary. I added extra sausage (because we like Italian sausage) and removed the casings. I added some red bell pepper since I had some that needed to be used, one zucchini, chopped fresh tomatoes from my garden, and fresh baby spinach. I, too, substituted the pasta for a bag of mixed shells and cooked the pasta separately. The family requested Farfalle or fettuccine for the next time around. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I used buffalo style chicken sausage, veggie rotini pasta, canned garbanzo beans, crushed red pepper and cayenne pepper bc my hubby likes spicy and he went nuts over this. Nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
OMG GOOD! I didn't have zucchini, but I threw in celery and carrots. I also added an extra cup of beef broth and reduced the wine by 1/4 cup (since that was all that was left in the bottle) :). Also, I used Hot Italian turkey sausage to save on fat. I didn't add the noodles and they weren't missed. This soup is a meal unto itself. When my 16 and 17 y.o. sons asked me when I could make it again, that sealed the deal. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was time to clean out the freezer before we head north for the summer and I had enough Italian sausage to make this yummy soup. The recipe does make a lot but I froze half and will serve on a night when I'm sick of packing. Serve with a buttered roll, it is the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was perfect! A huge hit with the girlfriend and I thought it was excellent. The zucchini was a great addition to it. I had 3rds when I rarely finish a plate at supper. The only thing we did different was added 3/4 cup of red wine instead of 1 1/4. Definitely going to be made for lots of dinners in the future. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy! This soup has a great flavor and I think you can customize the vegetables to your liking very easy. I added 8 ounces of mushrooms and red bell pepper instead of green. I also only added 8 ounces of shell pasta, I didn't want too many carbs. I also added a bag of fresh spinach half way through the cooking. I don't like red wine in my food so just substituted more beef broth. I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Only okay. We didn't feel it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Don't usually love tomato based soups, but my non-soup loving hubby and I both loved this. I'll make it again. Less pasta, add frozen spinach.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Quick, easy, AND delicious on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My husband and I love this soup. I added chopped spinach and used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green bell pepper. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States