Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Good recipe and makes a lot. 4 Stars because final product benefits from a fair amount of Parmesan Cheese (shredded not powdered) and a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a ziplock bag of frozen tomatoes and just one box of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I had no zucchini so I used kidney beans and also salad macaroni. I like less meat so I browned the sausage, onion and garlic all at once stirring often-worked for me. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was very tasty - family loved it. I did use whole tomatoes but will switch to either diced or crushed next time as I had to cut up the whole tomatoes before serving. Also, I used penne pasta and cooked it separately - 1 pound is a lot 1/2 pound is plenty. I plated pasta and then added soup on top so the past didn't absorb all the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This soup was amazingly delicious! I took a few tips from other reviewers and made a couple changes on my own (just because we like really flavorful food). Most of the time when I make a recipe my husband and I find it to be bland, so I'm always trying to "kick it up" a notch. We used 1 lb of sweet sausage and 1 lb of Hot! We only used 1 zucchini but added 2 cups of chopped Kale (or spinach would be good too). We doubled the basil and oregano and used 6 cloves of garlic (4 chopped and 2 grated) and 3 onions. We also used 6 cups of beef broth (4 cups low sodium 2 cups regular) and 1.5 cups of Sutter Home cabernet. I decided to skip the crock pot and do the whole thing in one pot! So, I fried the sausage, removed it to a plate, sautéed the onion & garlic, added the rest of the ingredients and returned the sausage to the pot and let it simmer an hour & 1/2 and it was PERFECT! We cooked the cheese tortellini separately and spooned the soup over it in our bowls and added the parmesan cheese! So good!!!! You just have to try it to believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great! Used organic penne noodles and natural sausage with casings removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I read lots of the reviews so I decided to add the zucchini late in the cooking time and added spinach too. We like spicy food so I used half hot sausage and half sweet. I used a pound of each. I used fresh basil and cheese stuffed spinach tortellini. I have pest tortellini so I might use that in the winter months since fresh basil won't be available in the quantity that I would want. This soup is a keeper. It smells wonderful while cooking and tastes as good as it smells. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used turkey Italian sausage to cut the fat, and I replaced the zucchini and green pepper with one bunch of sautéed kale. It's cooking on my stovetop right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Supererb!! The only thing I changed was my cooking method...instead of a crockpot, I boiled everything in a large pot for about 30 mins (I did brown the sausage as the recipe directed prior to though, then I cut them into bite size pieces). The soup was absolutely delicious! A keep for me & the Hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States