Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious! I made extra dough and put several more spoonfuls on top. It was easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eldred, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Good. But the original is too sweet for me who has diabetes. I reduced sugar to 3/8ths for the cake part and to 1/4 cup for the berry part. I also used three cups of frozen berries (berry mix of blackberries, blue berries, and raspberries) instead of just 2 cups. The berry part came out watery. Maybe it was from using frozen berries? The whole thing still tasted good. Next time I won't put any water in the berry part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Good taste. I made it in a 8x8 pan & only added a 1/2 cup of water and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have used it alot in the past year. I live in Japan where you just don't get good stuff like blackberry cobler, unless you make it. So far I have use this recipe to make blackberry, blueberry, and mixed berry cobler . All of them came out GREAT! I didn't change a thing, only the cooking times veried. With this recipe I just watch the crust, when it is golden brown, it's done. None of my coblers have lasted more than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Easy and yummy...who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good.Used unsalted butter 3/4 of cube
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Perhaps I did something wrong, but there was a gummy mauve layer on the bottom beneath the biscuit layer. I'm sorry, but I did not like this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I had never made cobbler this way, and I have to admit that I was sure the instructions were written wrong, because the whole thing is assembled upside down. I went ahead and did it anyway since the reviews were so good, and it was amazing! Great flavor, and it was a yummy way to use the marionberries from our garden. I'm going to let my girls help me next time--it was almost like magic to put a virtual "lake" of berries and sugar and water in the oven and have a scrumptious dessert emerge an hour later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but for some reason it didn't turn out quite right. I expected there to be a nice blackberry sauce on the bottom and the cake on top, but I ended up with a thick layer of clear gelatinized sugar on the bottom because the blackberries did not sink. They were almost all floating on top of the cake part. I guess blackberries don't generate much juice, because there was none when I baked these that were freshly picked a few minutes before. That said, the flavor was terrific - I added a bit of vanilla to the cake recipe. If anyone has a suggestion for something I may have done wrong, I'd be happy to read about it. I would like this recipe to work for me. We have a lot of berries growing on our property and it is a simple recipe, but it's not like what MY Mom used to make!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was so good! I changed the recipe a little bit. I used a whole stick of butter, steeped fresh mint leaves in the cup of water, and added a scoop of ground flax to the flour. At the very end, I dusted some cinnamon on top... and then had to slap my brothers' hands away so he wouldn't eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States