Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious! I made extra dough and put several more spoonfuls on top. It was easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eldred, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Good. But the original is too sweet for me who has diabetes. I reduced sugar to 3/8ths for the cake part and to 1/4 cup for the berry part. I also used three cups of frozen berries (berry mix of blackberries, blue berries, and raspberries) instead of just 2 cups. The berry part came out watery. Maybe it was from using frozen berries? The whole thing still tasted good. Next time I won't put any water in the berry part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Good taste. I made it in a 8x8 pan & only added a 1/2 cup of water and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe! I have used it alot in the past year. I live in Japan where you just don't get good stuff like blackberry cobler, unless you make it. So far I have use this recipe to make blackberry, blueberry, and mixed berry cobler . All of them came out GREAT! I didn't change a thing, only the cooking times veried. With this recipe I just watch the crust, when it is golden brown, it's done. None of my coblers have lasted more than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Easy and yummy...who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good.Used unsalted butter 3/4 of cube
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Perhaps I did something wrong, but there was a gummy mauve layer on the bottom beneath the biscuit layer. I'm sorry, but I did not like this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I had never made cobbler this way, and I have to admit that I was sure the instructions were written wrong, because the whole thing is assembled upside down. I went ahead and did it anyway since the reviews were so good, and it was amazing! Great flavor, and it was a yummy way to use the marionberries from our garden. I'm going to let my girls help me next time--it was almost like magic to put a virtual "lake" of berries and sugar and water in the oven and have a scrumptious dessert emerge an hour later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but for some reason it didn't turn out quite right. I expected there to be a nice blackberry sauce on the bottom and the cake on top, but I ended up with a thick layer of clear gelatinized sugar on the bottom because the blackberries did not sink. They were almost all floating on top of the cake part. I guess blackberries don't generate much juice, because there was none when I baked these that were freshly picked a few minutes before. That said, the flavor was terrific - I added a bit of vanilla to the cake recipe. If anyone has a suggestion for something I may have done wrong, I'd be happy to read about it. I would like this recipe to work for me. We have a lot of berries growing on our property and it is a simple recipe, but it's not like what MY Mom used to make!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was so good! I changed the recipe a little bit. I used a whole stick of butter, steeped fresh mint leaves in the cup of water, and added a scoop of ground flax to the flour. At the very end, I dusted some cinnamon on top... and then had to slap my brothers' hands away so he wouldn't eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States