Best Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a very good base hummus recipe. It has a good texture and some flavor. Because I like lots of flavor, I would probably add additional garlic and maybe some cayenne, but that is just personal preference. You can't go wrong with this recipe and then you can tweak it with additional seasoning from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Whoa! Garlic overload! Obviously garlic cloves vary greatly in size and mine must have been particularly large. I used just one good-sized clove and now as I write this it's all I'm tasting. Thank goodness I made this well in advance of serving so that I had the opportunity to adjust - by making another full recipe omitting the garlic altogether and adding it to the original batch. (Now we're going to have "hummus overload!") Perhaps it might be better to just start out with "a teensy bit of garlic" instead of the rather vague "3 cloves garlic." Other than that this is a good, basic hummus, tho' for my taste it could use a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
A simple recipe to follow that yields great results. From now on, I'm making my own hummus instead of buying it and spending more $$. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband is a hummus fanatic. He claims this is the best yet. I upped the lemon juice to 3 tbs and added 8 oz of drained roasted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Super-easy, super-tasty. Had these down by the pool with pita chips. Great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Love everything about it but with a little less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelGirl
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Good basic recipe I think water takes away from the flavor so the second time I made it I used the juice from the garbanzo beans. That helps with the flavor issue. I also added a touch of salt and used two cloves of garlic instead of 3 as the flavor intensifies as the hummus sits, and I love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This hummus is delicious. I wouldn't change a thing, although I made a triple recipe and made two alternatives with part of it: one with steamed yellow squash with cinnamon and cloves and one with chopped basil added. I baked up some pita chips and have been having the best lunches, sampling my 3 dishes alternatively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I love this recipe. It turned out great. I doubled the recipe and ended up adding an extra tablespoon of olive oil and the juice of one lemon. It tastes authentic and like it came from a restaurant. Thanks a bunch for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Not as flavorful as I had hoped----but I am one who LOVES intense flavor and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States