Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before I made the dip. It is outstanding. I followed the recipe, however I didn't measure, I used the eyeball technique and it worked well. One thing to remember; drain the capers and artichokes before mixing in. I could see why it would be oily if not. Also, I made it at 4:30pm to serve at 6:00pm. Having time to settle helps. Overall, easy and low-maintenance....my kind of recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this for a party and it was fabulous. I took the advise of others and did not use capers and only one half of a can of artichoke hearts, chopped very well. I bought two containers of lump crab meat in the refrigerated section and it was very expensive. Next time I will buy the back fin because of all the other ingredients it would not have mattered. I probably tripled the old bay and dill. I also used my potato masher to get the lumps out of the cream cheese. It made a lot. I took it to a party of 22 and brought half of it home, however it warmed up nicely in the microwave. I would make this again for a large party. Oh and I heated it up in a pottery pie dish and use baguette bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this New Years eve. I added all lump crab, all the cheeses, mayonnaise and sour cream. I cut the capers back to 1 Tbsp. Chopped. I only used approximately 8 oz. Artichoke hearts chopped. I cut back on garlic to 1 Tbsp., 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. dried dill, 1 tsp. Old bay. I did make an addition of 1 tsp. dried mustard, 1 tsp. worsetershire sauce. And 1 Tbsp. Dry sherry. I looked at all the reviews before diving in, and with the tweaking all of my guests raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tweaked this recipe a bit. I'm not a big fan of capers so I left them out & artichokes tend to overpower so I added more crab instead. I also left out the buttermilk & substituted 2% milk (3/4 of a cup was more than enough). Being a Marylander myself...I added a tablespoon of old bay to the mixture as well as on top. Baked 20 minutes & served sliced French bread for a little bulk with the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good recipe with a few modifications: * I cut the recipe in half (because it was just a lot of dip) * Even after cutting it in half, I still only used about a half pound of fresh crab meat (1lb was just way too much!) *I omitted the capers just because the recipe tasted great with out them - however if you were to add them I would drastically cut them - by half or more. * I also halved the amount of artichokes (again by at least half). *I also omitted the buttermilk - it was great with out it * I also cut the mayo in half. * Lastly I added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and doubled the old bay seasoning. Tossed it all in a crock pot and VOILA - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Excellent, will make cold and add some liquid as it sets up a little thick cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Thought it was great! I also didnt add the buttermilk, or the sharp cheddar and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
being from maryland, i thought this was pretty bad. i love capers and i love artichoke, so i was excited, though a little hesitant, to use both in this dip. following the recipe to exact specs, all i could taste were the chokes & capers, and Old Bay, which was the only saving grace. i would say, leave out artichokes and capers, and concentrate on the crab in the crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Everyone loved it! Took others' suggestions and made it without the buttermilk, 2/3 cup of capers, double the Old Bay. Was addictive hot or cold. Went well with tortilla chips and/or crackers as I didn't go the bread bowl route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I was eager to try this recipe after reading the ingredient list. I just so happened to have some shrimp and crab legs leftover from last night's seafood boil. So no canned crab for us. This was so yummy and flavorful. I decided to not use the capers and only used 1/2 cup of artichokes. I did add onion powder and chopped spinach. Awesome with tortillas chips.Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States