Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Excellent, will make cold and add some liquid as it sets up a little thick cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Thought it was great! I also didnt add the buttermilk, or the sharp cheddar and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
being from maryland, i thought this was pretty bad. i love capers and i love artichoke, so i was excited, though a little hesitant, to use both in this dip. following the recipe to exact specs, all i could taste were the chokes & capers, and Old Bay, which was the only saving grace. i would say, leave out artichokes and capers, and concentrate on the crab in the crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Everyone loved it! Took others' suggestions and made it without the buttermilk, 2/3 cup of capers, double the Old Bay. Was addictive hot or cold. Went well with tortilla chips and/or crackers as I didn't go the bread bowl route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I was eager to try this recipe after reading the ingredient list. I just so happened to have some shrimp and crab legs leftover from last night's seafood boil. So no canned crab for us. This was so yummy and flavorful. I decided to not use the capers and only used 1/2 cup of artichokes. I did add onion powder and chopped spinach. Awesome with tortillas chips.Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
i love this recipe!!! i did cut way back on the cappers, i think i only used 1-2 tbls. i only used 1 tablespoon of garlic and 1 small can of artichokes. i wanted the crab to stand out. next time i will cut back a bit on the sour cream and buttermilk. the dip was a little loose when hot but tightened up when it got cooler. this dip is rich and feeds a big group, so its nice a nice party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Good recipe however all of the cheeses made the dip taste a little bitter. I would suggest using 3/4 or 1/2 amount of white cheddar cheese, I omitted the capers and add would suggest to add a second container of lump crab meat. I also ate the dip with tortillas. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Awesome dip! If u know how to properly mix and incorperate the ingrediants, everything blends perfectly! Anyone who doesnt like this dip should learn how to cook and try it again lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This needed to be changed to make it less greasy. I only used half the cheeses and I'll probably use low-fat sour cream instead of full fat. I love capers but this made the dip incredibly salty. I'll use less capers next time. Overall this was a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States