Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tweaked this recipe a bit. I'm not a big fan of capers so I left them out & artichokes tend to overpower so I added more crab instead. I also left out the buttermilk & substituted 2% milk (3/4 of a cup was more than enough). Being a Marylander myself...I added a tablespoon of old bay to the mixture as well as on top. Baked 20 minutes & served sliced French bread for a little bulk with the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good recipe with a few modifications: * I cut the recipe in half (because it was just a lot of dip) * Even after cutting it in half, I still only used about a half pound of fresh crab meat (1lb was just way too much!) *I omitted the capers just because the recipe tasted great with out them - however if you were to add them I would drastically cut them - by half or more. * I also halved the amount of artichokes (again by at least half). *I also omitted the buttermilk - it was great with out it * I also cut the mayo in half. * Lastly I added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and doubled the old bay seasoning. Tossed it all in a crock pot and VOILA - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Excellent, will make cold and add some liquid as it sets up a little thick cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Thought it was great! I also didnt add the buttermilk, or the sharp cheddar and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
being from maryland, i thought this was pretty bad. i love capers and i love artichoke, so i was excited, though a little hesitant, to use both in this dip. following the recipe to exact specs, all i could taste were the chokes & capers, and Old Bay, which was the only saving grace. i would say, leave out artichokes and capers, and concentrate on the crab in the crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Everyone loved it! Took others' suggestions and made it without the buttermilk, 2/3 cup of capers, double the Old Bay. Was addictive hot or cold. Went well with tortilla chips and/or crackers as I didn't go the bread bowl route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I was eager to try this recipe after reading the ingredient list. I just so happened to have some shrimp and crab legs leftover from last night's seafood boil. So no canned crab for us. This was so yummy and flavorful. I decided to not use the capers and only used 1/2 cup of artichokes. I did add onion powder and chopped spinach. Awesome with tortillas chips.Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
i love this recipe!!! i did cut way back on the cappers, i think i only used 1-2 tbls. i only used 1 tablespoon of garlic and 1 small can of artichokes. i wanted the crab to stand out. next time i will cut back a bit on the sour cream and buttermilk. the dip was a little loose when hot but tightened up when it got cooler. this dip is rich and feeds a big group, so its nice a nice party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Good recipe however all of the cheeses made the dip taste a little bitter. I would suggest using 3/4 or 1/2 amount of white cheddar cheese, I omitted the capers and add would suggest to add a second container of lump crab meat. I also ate the dip with tortillas. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States