Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was an awful dip...Thank goodness I did a trial run...when I took it out of the oven there were pools of oil on the top and sides...too many fatty ingredients? there were unmixed lumps of cream cheese in various cooked pockets although I had stirred thoroughly...the cream cheese should have been beaten with the other ingredients with heavy duty mix master after softened? the capers were overwhelming in taste...they should have been finely diced? the garlic was overwhelming...maybe 1 tablespoon vs. 2? You should only use fresh crab meat...the canned taste was unmistakable (I thought that with all the yummy sounding ingredients the canned taste would cook out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The first time I made it, I [accidentally] left our the Buttermilk. The second time I made it I wished that I had forgotten the Buttermilk; it was much better without it. Next time I make it I will add more crab meat and more artichoke hearts, for a thicker, heartier dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Great!!!Very creamy dip with a wonderful blend of flavors. I added extra Old Bay seasoning (I am from Maryland, we use this spice like salt and pepper!) Someone complained of the artichokes overpowering the dip- I thought it was terrific since my family and I love artichokes (my kids favorite vegetable). If you're after more of the crab flavor, scale down the artichokes, don't use them, or use more crabmeat. I have always noticed that artichokes in dips are the most dominant flavor. Like other reviews stated, this recipe can be adapted to many tastes, i.e. using shrimp, lobster, etc. I actually didn't have cheddar or montery jack cheeses, and substituted asiago cheese and it was great. Looking forward to making it again with the correct cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Do NOT let the long list of ingredients intimidate you - it is WELL worth it. God this recipe is so so good. I did one of those 'well I should make sure it tastes ok before I serve it' and kept eating it before it was baked!!!! I used 2 cans lump crab meat (in the tuna section of the grocery store) and 1/3 can white crab meat from the same section, and was amazed at how good this came out. The sourdough 'dish' is brilliant. Served this with wheat thins also, but may put some salt in next time, and serve it with Carr's Table Water crackers. God I could eat this entire thing alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I can say based on my taste test and the tasting by 15 other folks - THIS CRAB DIP (as I prepared it) IS AWSOME!!!} However, I am an accomplished cook so I can get a good feel for a recipe just by reading it. I don't think that 1/2 tsp of dried dill is overpowering for this recipe. While I love capers, a lot of people do not, so I used non-parielles which are smaller. I would certainly increase the amount of crab, using either all lump or a mix of lump and back-fin depending on the size of my wallet. I think a bit of sherry or white wine would be an acceptable addition. Or some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I found this recipe a couple of years ago on allrecipes.com and it has become a favorite of our family! I always make it at holidays & when company comes over. Everyone always loves it. I know alot of people are unsure about putting capers in it, either because they think they wouldn't taste good in it or because they don't know what capers are. I assure you that the capers is a MUST for this recipe. Capers by themselves aren't appetizing, but when added to this recipe, gives it just the right flavor! Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
3 words - OH MY GOSH! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could - it was SO amazing I didn't want to share! I made a second batch and had some left over (hid it from my hubby) and it was good even cold! Unlike other reviewers, I enjoyed the taste of the capers. If you've never tried them before, add just a few - it gives this recipe a nice flavor. Thank you for sharing Joelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBanani

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Fantastic dip!! I've been looking for a great crab dip for years, and this is absolutely *IT*! The ingredients can get a bit spendy - there's lots of good stuff in there. But very much worth it. I served it out of a 2 quart crock with sourdough bread and restaurant-style tortilla chips. It also reheats well in the microwave. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is the best crab dip I've ever made. I cater for small events and every person I've served it to loves it. I never have leftovers. Its even better with shrimp and scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was really tasty! I made it for my family get-together on Christmas Eve, and everyone loved it! Instead of serving it in a bread bowl, I put out some lime tortilla chips to dip into it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States