Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this recipe is pretty good but it is definately missing something I'm not sure what it is. It was worth trying though. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was a very tasty & popular appetizer. I used 2 cans of lump crabmeat & 2 cans of backfin crabmeat. Next time. I would probably do entirely all lump meat. I served the dip in a bread bowl with crisp crackers. I did struggle with the dip being a little too runny & I had difficulty with it browning nicely on the top. I resorted to broiling it for the last 5 minutes. Overall, this is a definite do-again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was an awful dip...Thank goodness I did a trial run...when I took it out of the oven there were pools of oil on the top and sides...too many fatty ingredients? there were unmixed lumps of cream cheese in various cooked pockets although I had stirred thoroughly...the cream cheese should have been beaten with the other ingredients with heavy duty mix master after softened? the capers were overwhelming in taste...they should have been finely diced? the garlic was overwhelming...maybe 1 tablespoon vs. 2? You should only use fresh crab meat...the canned taste was unmistakable (I thought that with all the yummy sounding ingredients the canned taste would cook out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is the best dip EVER!!!!! I didn't put in the capers due to other people's suggestions, and this dip is to die for. My family has requested this for our Christmas Eve Party, and they now call it "My Famous Crab Dip" thanks to your recipe. It really reminds me of Red Lobster's Dip, but even better. Thank YOu@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The first time I made it, I [accidentally] left our the Buttermilk. The second time I made it I wished that I had forgotten the Buttermilk; it was much better without it. Next time I make it I will add more crab meat and more artichoke hearts, for a thicker, heartier dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
this really is the best crab dip! due to supplies on-hand, i had to alter the recipe a bit...namely, had to forgo the capers, monterey jack cheese, dill and Parmesan Cheese. Also didn't have any mayo so instead used half a cup of miracle whip. despite all these changes it was still absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This crab dip is awesome! So delicious & so easy to make! I do, however, have a suggestion. The bread bowl is great but the bread used for dipping is not hard enough to pick up the dip. You may want to toast the bread pieces or use bread sticks instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This dip is great! I made it without the capers and I add a little extra old bay and it's amazing. I took it to a party and it was completely gone by the end of the night even the bread bowl was eaten, now I have to bring it to any party that I go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Unbelievably easy & tasty. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States