Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is excellent! Makes a lot . Great for parties. Made it with canned crabmeat and thought that it didn't effect the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Really great dip! I think the bad reviews are from people who just don't know what they are doing. My changes... I did not put in the capers since I did not have any. I used high quality cheeses which I am sure helps. I used canned crabmeat nothing fancy but I think it would be even better with a higher quality lump crab meat. Took this to my family of very picky eaters and they really loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
A real crowd pleaser! The first time I made it I only tweaked it a little, and it turned out a little blend, but people still liked it. The second time, I used real crab meat AND twice as much as the recipe called for. I also held back on the artichoke, used nearly twice the amount of dill & Old Bay, and added a touch of cayenne to give it a kick. Because I had to change it up, I would have given this a 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I come back to this year after year. I looked at my original copy and it was printed in 2003. Use only real crab meat. Canned doesn't do this recipe justice. I don't do the bread bowl - just serve with a variety of crackers and baguette slices. I add a bit more Old Bay (I'm in Maryland - I have to!), only about 1/4 cup of the capers. Also add a bit of crushed red pepper. Recipe is a bit expensive but worth the cost for special events/parties. (I only give 5 stars for truly exceptional recipes - I'd give this 4 1/2 if I could).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is the best crab dip ever!! I'm not allowed to show up at parties without it!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
It was very easy to make as well as tasty. Although I substituted a flavored sour cream, such as onions and chives in place of basic sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made the dip with suggestions from the other reviews but I personally think the 1/2 cup of Capers should be cut down to 1/4 cup capers !! I took the dip to my sista's house for a BBQ and EVERYONE loved the dip..It's great with Wheat thins and also I only use 1 jar of Artichoke hearts !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is the best dip I have ever made! I make this for my sister's cocktail parties and there's never any at the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I can say based on my taste test and the tasting by 15 other folks - THIS CRAB DIP (as I prepared it) IS AWSOME!!!} However, I am an accomplished cook so I can get a good feel for a recipe just by reading it. I don't think that 1/2 tsp of dried dill is overpowering for this recipe. While I love capers, a lot of people do not, so I used non-parielles which are smaller. I would certainly increase the amount of crab, using either all lump or a mix of lump and back-fin depending on the size of my wallet. I think a bit of sherry or white wine would be an acceptable addition. Or some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Never made crab dip before and I chose this recipe to try it out. Delicious...will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States